• Show
Clear All
  • CrashCoursing
    • July 4, 2018
    • Australia

DFS as opposed to Revit Server

Hi everyone.
    Big post incoming.

This is my first time posting and i think i should prefix this with a bit of background.
    I work for an IT company that has contracted me out to manage a another companies IT.
    The company I'm managing is a multi-discipline Engineering firm.
    Office is 4 different states all over Australia and 1 in another country and are in the midst of massive expansion.
    I don't know **** about Revit/Cad and I'm crash coursing real hard thanks to you fine gentlemen and by catching a first class flight on Seat of My Pants Airlines.

The set up:

We have an SMB drive in the head office with majority of projects there.
    Other sites have a Synology NAS for local projects that don't require the head office to get involved.
    All sites are linked by a Draytek Lan-to-Lan VPN. A system I am not keen on. I think we all know why.
    We have minimum two hydraulic modelers and general Revit modelers on each site working across projects if needed.
    All sites have 400/400 Fibre connections except head office which has a 50/50 fibre link (for the next 24months this had been renegotiated before I started).

The issue:

Boy is this slow. 30 minute opening times and 15 minutes syncs when modelers are working over VPN on head office models.
    Getting a lot of complaints...obviously.

The questions:

BIM360 - I'm pretty bloody keen on this. I'm pushing it hard.
    Revit server - I can set this up no biggy.

BUT in the event the money people end up just looking at me and rubbing their thumb and index fingers together while ignoring the fact that sitting around waiting for models to load is a much larger waste of *rubs thumb and index fingers together*, would a DFS solution work?

Pros:
    We have the hardware on site at present to implement it.
    It would be in sync.
    The links to site are up to scratch.

Cons: