Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2249 USD (90%)

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: design options

  1. #1
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,645
    Current Local Time
    01:13 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    design options

    I'm working on a 2 box modular building where I would like a 3rd box to be a design option (on or off). I have created a single option containing the 3rd box and the first 2 boxes are still in the 'main model'. When I go to VV I only have the ability to 'show only' the 3 box option without the primary model. No way to 'show only' the main model, without the 3rd box.
    My question is, should I have the primary 2 box construction (definately being built) in it's own Design option?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,234
    Current Local Time
    10:13 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You lost me at VV... Did you mean VG?

    When you create a design option, they are view specific. Once you create one, there will now be a Design Option tab in your visibility graphics (VG). You'll need to create a new view, then set the DO in the DO tab to whatever you want to show. I hope that helps.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Ning Zhou's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 20, 2011
    Posts
    854
    Current Local Time
    08:13 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    i always create an empty design option as one of the design options for each design option set, very useful for VG control & checking purpose, hope it helps.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Tim West's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    611
    Current Local Time
    03:13 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by dzatto View Post
    You lost me at VV... Did you mean VG?

    When you create a design option, they are view specific. Once you create one, there will now be a Design Option tab in your visibility graphics (VG). You'll need to create a new view, then set the DO in the DO tab to whatever you want to show. I hope that helps.
    This value fights with the parameter in view properties 'Visible in Option', which allows testing of individual options, rather that combinations of. and can override the VG option.... grrrrr

    To set this up properly, as Ning Zhou suggests add a second option to the option set that doesn't have your 3rd box.
    If you want the 3rd box off by default, set this second option as 'Primary'.
    To control visibility
    1. as above, use 'VG'>'DO' tab for that view.
    2. Use the 'Visible in Option' property in 'View Properties'

    Peace...
    Last edited by Tim West; July 26th, 2012 at 12:18 AM.

  5. #5
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,645
    Current Local Time
    01:13 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by dzatto View Post
    You lost me at VV... Did you mean VG?

    When you create a design option, they are view specific. Once you create one, there will now be a Design Option tab in your visibility graphics (VG). You'll need to create a new view, then set the DO in the DO tab to whatever you want to show. I hope that helps.
    yes, sorry VV=VG. Type VV and see what happens

    Quote Originally Posted by Ning Zhou View Post
    i always create an empty design option as one of the design options for each design option set, very useful for VG control & checking purpose, hope it helps.
    This seemingly works for visibility only? I need to work in the design option, but a good tip.

    **edit- this works a treat...of course the facade wall from my 2 box build goes into its own DO

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim West View Post
    This value fights with the parameter in view properties 'Visible in Option', which allows testing of individual options, rather that combinations of. and can override the VG option.... grrrrr

    To set this up properly, as Ning Zhou suggests add a second option to the option set that doesn't have your 3rd box.
    If you want the 3rd box off by default, set this second option as 'Primary'.
    To control visibility
    1. as above, use 'VG'>'DO' tab for that view.
    2. Use the 'Visible in Option' property in 'View Properties'

    Peace...
    This was much appreciated advice you mentioned to me in another thread awhile back, thanks mate


    So the answer to my OP is 'yes' thanks guys!
    Last edited by elton williams; July 26th, 2012 at 01:48 AM.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,234
    Current Local Time
    10:13 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Damn, I had no idea VV opened VG. That's even easier!

Similar Threads

  1. Printing Design Options?
    By lieblick in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 17th, 2012, 05:53 PM
  2. Design Options
    By cellophane in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 30th, 2012, 03:23 PM
  3. Demolition and Design Options
    By renogreen in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 24th, 2011, 04:58 PM
  4. Design Options
    By dzatto in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: May 4th, 2011, 01:24 PM
  5. Design options and constraints
    By jbenoit44 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 12th, 2011, 11:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •