Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Wall Clean Up Problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 24, 2012
    Posts
    23
    Current Local Time
    09:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Wall Clean Up Problem

    Hi,

    I have a wall cleanup problem I hope to get help with. I want a single leaf blockwork wall to clean up with a cavity wall's interior blockwork. The Cavity wall comprises of the following layers: 102.5mm Brickwork exterior leaf, 35mm Air Flow, 65mm Insulation, 100mm Concrete blockwork interior leaf, 25mm Timber Battons, 12.5mm Plasterboard. There is a Sweep with a Buttress profile to the base of the Exterior.

    The single leaf Blockwork Wall doesn't cleanup with the Cavity Wall's Interior leaf Concrete Blockwork. There should be a clean 'T' join however lines appear where the join is. A work around was to creat a seperate wall for the Timber stud and plasterboard and join the two walls but this is time consuming and the reveals on ope's aren't included.

    Please see attached image and a copy of the RVT file.

    Thanks,

    Peter
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Wall Clean1.JPG  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Moderator gaby424's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 11, 2010
    Posts
    912
    Current Local Time
    11:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    because one wall has that layer in the core boundry and the other out of the core boundry.
    Revit doesn`t like that..

  3. #3
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,236
    Current Local Time
    04:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Exactly. I was bored so I fixed it for ya. Is this the look you are going for?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Wall Cleanup.JPG  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 24, 2012
    Posts
    23
    Current Local Time
    09:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The layers inside the Core Boundary are Insulation and an air Flow, if I move the Insulation layer outside the Core Boundary the problem gets worse because the Single leaf Blockwork Wall extends further inside the Core Boundary.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wall Clean2.JPG 
Views:	47 
Size:	78.6 KB 
ID:	7767

  5. #5
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,236
    Current Local Time
    04:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I always put the structure inside the core boundary (if there is a structure layer, that is). Then build the wall out from there. Substrate, thermal, finish.
    One of your walls had the CMU in the core boundary, one wall had the CMU out side of it.

    Also, you need to label the functions properly. CMU should be your structure, not substrate. The function determines what goes through what.
    Last edited by dzatto; April 26th, 2012 at 09:48 PM.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 24, 2012
    Posts
    23
    Current Local Time
    09:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks, I achieved that before but it is still incorrect because the now the inner leaf Blockwork isn't wrapping which is very important and it has to be outside the Core Boundary to wrap.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,236
    Current Local Time
    04:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You lost me on that one. If you have 2 block walls, how does the brick work wrap it? The two block walls are the structure, everything else is just facade.

    EDIT** are you talking about it wrapping around the openings?
    Last edited by dzatto; April 26th, 2012 at 09:53 PM.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 24, 2012
    Posts
    23
    Current Local Time
    09:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	70871_Closing_Cavity.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	46.1 KB 
ID:	7768

    The Inner leaf in Irish Construction Closes the cavity, please see attached image for exact detail.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Closing Cavity Detail.JPG 
Views:	50 
Size:	33.1 KB 
ID:	7769. I use the Wall Closure Paramater in a Door or Window to determine how far teh block will wrap so I can leave a gap for Cold Bridging Insulation.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 24, 2012
    Posts
    23
    Current Local Time
    09:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by dzatto View Post
    You lost me on that one. If you have 2 block walls, how does the brick work wrap it? The two block walls are the structure, everything else is just facade.

    EDIT** are you talking about it wrapping around the openings?
    Yes, openings/inserts and at ends.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,236
    Current Local Time
    04:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Is that really how it's done? I'm not being negative, I've just never seen that before. Why wouldn't you wrap the exterior brick to close the cavity?

    Anyway, back to the topic at hand. Let me mess around with it and see if I can get it to work. I'm guessing I won't be able to, but I'll try again now that I understand the issue. You're right, you can't wrap a core layer.

Similar Threads

  1. Stacked wall clean-up issue
    By cellophane in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: January 26th, 2015, 04:24 PM
  2. Identifying wall buildups problem
    By maskelllee in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: March 14th, 2012, 06:04 PM
  3. Clean up Duplicates
    By DaveP in forum Third party Add-Ins, API and R&D
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: May 4th, 2011, 02:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •