Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Matchline in elevation

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Posts
    120
    Current Local Time
    10:57 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Matchline in elevation

    I placed matchlines in my plans. Do these also show up in the elevations? Or do I need to create new ones for my elevation views?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4,534
    Current Local Time
    10:57 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by t1shep View Post
    I placed matchlines in my plans. Do these also show up in the elevations? Or do I need to create new ones for my elevation views?
    there was a long and involved thread about this in that other Revit forum and IIRC the concensus was that they have to be placed separately in each view

  3. #3
    Forum Addict gdoherty0102's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,153
    Current Local Time
    11:57 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If this is the case, I would recommend locking them to a RP (reference plane) so if you move the ML in plan/elevation it moves in the other.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4,534
    Current Local Time
    10:57 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by gdoherty0102 View Post
    If this is the case, I would recommend locking them to a RP (reference plane) so if you move the ML in plan/elevation it moves in the other.
    how would you do this? I can't Align a matchline to a RP so how would one get the padlock to lock the ML to the RP?

  5. #5
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,173
    Current Local Time
    01:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Jones View Post
    how would you do this? I can't Align a matchline to a RP so how would one get the padlock to lock the ML to the RP?

    Having the RP already in place, create the matchline by "pick lines", selecting the RP, and lock it.

  6. #6
    Forum Addict gdoherty0102's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,153
    Current Local Time
    11:57 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You can't allign after you have finished out of sketch mode. Select the match line->edit sketch->align the sketch lines to the RP.

  7. #7
    Forum Addict gdoherty0102's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,153
    Current Local Time
    11:57 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Alfredo Medina View Post
    Having the RP already in place, create the matchline by "pick lines", selecting the RP, and lock it.
    I would recommend making the RP a little longer than you want the ML so you can pick it and move it...but either way you just need to edit the sketch and allign...either by picking line, drawing, or alligning existing.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Posts
    120
    Current Local Time
    10:57 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks everyone. I'll give the RP lock a try.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4,534
    Current Local Time
    10:57 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Alfredo Medina View Post
    Having the RP already in place, create the matchline by "pick lines", selecting the RP, and lock it.
    OK, that locks the ML to the RP in plan but you still have to make another ML in elevation view and lock it too. Then when you move the RP both of the MLs move together? Just like the last time we discussed a similar issue over at the other place to me match lines seem very un Revit like. They should be "live". Make one in one view and it should be available in all other views. How is a match line any different than a model line with a dashed linetype? They are just a simple annotation type object.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    "Mark Twain"
    mdradvies's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Boxtel, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,564
    Current Local Time
    05:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Jones View Post
    OK, that locks the ML to the RP in plan but you still have to make another ML in elevation view and lock it too. Then when you move the RP both of the MLs move together? Just like the last time we discussed a similar issue over at the other place to me match lines seem very un Revit like. They should be "live". Make one in one view and it should be available in all other views. How is a match line any different than a model line with a dashed linetype? They are just a simple annotation type object.
    Well, actually Model Lines AREN'T annotation objects, that would be the big difference... Model Lines are 3D components, that's the reason they are shown in all views. Otherwise it would be stupid to have them, since there's also Detail Lines.

Similar Threads

  1. Elevation Tags
    By SimAll in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: April 12th, 2011, 12:03 AM
  2. Site elevation vs. Shared Elevation
    By KimArndt in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 28th, 2011, 01:24 PM
  3. 3D Elevation resets itself
    By Darryl_S in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 7th, 2011, 03:15 AM
  4. Interior Elevation Tag
    By dzatto in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2011, 09:00 PM
  5. Section Head as Elevation
    By gdoherty0102 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 18th, 2011, 04:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •