Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Hanger Columns

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    November 28, 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    154
    Current Local Time
    10:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Hanger Columns

    Hello All

    I have two high beams and and I need to put in two hanging columns. Can anyone tell me how to do that

    Thanks in advance

    Kevin
    Last edited by kev4174; January 5th, 2012 at 02:17 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,572
    Current Local Time
    07:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Go to the level where the top of your column will be. Start the column command. Change the setting from Height to Depth and select the level to which you want the bottom of the column to attach. (I think they can be the same level for top and bottom) Finaly after placement you can edit the level offsets of the column to suit your needs.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    November 28, 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    154
    Current Local Time
    10:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Alex

    Okay, I did what you have mentioned above, now my problem is this:

    after placing the columns, i tried to used the attached top/base command, and the result is that he hanging column will now attach to the lower beam that I am connecting to and the height of the column is now the same height of the lower beam. when I try to attach the hanging column to the u/s of the high beam, the hanging column and the lower beam lose their connection and now don't meet.

    do yo have any ideas?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,572
    Current Local Time
    07:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Not totaly sure what your problem is. Can you show pictures.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    November 28, 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    154
    Current Local Time
    10:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Alex

    As requested, here area a couple of pictures for the connection i am trying to get with these hanger columns.

    Connect1.png: show the hanger column connected to the higher beam and coming down to connect to the short horizontal beam that is connected to the column. this the result when i use the "attached top/base" command. I need to get the hanger column to connect to the u/s of the lower beam

    Connect2.png: shows what happens to the hanger column when i use the "attached top/base command" and attach it the top or bottom of the beam.

    Hopes this helps give you a better idea.

    This is literally my first revit project, so please bear with me if I don't understand a question in your reply.

    Sorry forgot to add the pictures

    thanks

    Kevin
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails connect 1.png   connect2.png  
    Last edited by kev4174; January 6th, 2012 at 05:54 PM.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    December 12, 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    322
    Current Local Time
    05:16 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I can't see the pictures.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    November 28, 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    154
    Current Local Time
    10:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    pictures uploaded

  8. #8
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,572
    Current Local Time
    07:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Attach the bottom of the col to the lower beams then add an offset to the bottom of the col??? Can this be done?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    November 28, 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    154
    Current Local Time
    10:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I have got it to work. I noticed that my base level was set to the top of the pool steel, so I think this was the problem. I didn't see a selection to be unconnected so what I have done is that I attached the hanger column to the underside of the higher beam than I have entered in the depth of the beam as the base offset to get the column to the underside of the beam.

    I was hoping there might be another way so it would be automatic and that I don't have to do this everytime. but if this the only way to make it work than i'm okay with this.

    here is a picture of my result. The column is highlighted in red.

    Thanks for the help everyone

    Kevin
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails connection3.png  

  10. #10
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,029
    Current Local Time
    06:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Seems like Adriano's post ought to be split to a new thread?

Similar Threads

  1. Wall Sweep With Columns
    By dzatto in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: January 3rd, 2012, 03:53 PM
  2. Zero material volume for columns!
    By r7_human8y in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 27th, 2011, 06:11 PM
  3. Slabs at Columns
    By gdoherty0102 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: October 25th, 2011, 09:00 PM
  4. Resize Revision Schedule Columns
    By mark b in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 15th, 2011, 10:24 AM
  5. Schedule Columns
    By dzatto in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: January 25th, 2011, 07:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •