Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Revit on high performance cloud computer??

  1.    #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    October 10, 2019
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    02:16 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Lightbulb Revit on high performance cloud computer??

    Hi guys,

    There are a lot of new services coming to live recently. I've just encountered vagon.io - a cloud computer for performance software. Does it make sense to run Revit on a cloud computer service?

    What do you think?
    Last edited by zahidsagiroglu; October 11th, 2019 at 09:33 PM. Reason: remove commercial link

  2.    #2
    Moderator LeanneZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    774
    Current Local Time
    07:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Where I work now, we are already using a Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI) with another established cloud computing provider. We've had some hurdles. But it works well.

  3.    #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    October 10, 2019
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    02:16 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks LeanneZ, it is good to know that VDI services are working. I am working as a freelancer. Therefore I don't have any well established VDI infrastructure. This one seems appropriate for a freelancer like me or for small teams perhaps. I think I should give it a try when they launch it.

  4.    #4
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 25, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    209
    Current Local Time
    11:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I would always prefer to run Revit local and not on a vitual machine in the cloud.

  5.    #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    October 10, 2019
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    02:16 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Do you have any negative experience about cloud solution?

  6.    #6
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 25, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    209
    Current Local Time
    11:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I did a test with a cloudprovider and the CPU was just not fast enough, and Revit neede single core speed.
    If you buy your own computer it will be cheaper in the long run and you got a fixed price.

    If you want to test if it's good for Revit just run the Passmark benchmark and compare to a 9700K.
    Last edited by Marcel Jansen; October 11th, 2019 at 12:22 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •