Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cannot make dimensions in Section

  1.    #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 1, 2019
    Location
    Szczecin PL/Hamburg DE
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    09:37 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Cannot make dimensions in Section

    Hi

    I have iritating issue in Revit. I made a section of concrete reinforcement bridge. "View range" of section is 0mm, because I just want to see only a thin slice. I cannot make dimensions of arc, also it is not possible to make horizontal dimension between vertical walls. Anybody knows why? Why revit do not want to use edges, that are exactly in this section? I attached .rvt file. In inventor it was completely not a problem to make a dimensions of exges in section. Revit do not see section edges? In a picture below example dimensions that I am not able to make. I know that I can make a detail line and it will works, but I don't want to, because that cost time!

    Thanks in advance.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Bridge.PNG  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2.    #2
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,519
    Current Local Time
    02:37 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Revit dimensions fine in Section.

    Revit DOES NOT dimension in section if the items you are cutting arent perpendicular to the section. My guess is you have the view range infinitely thin because that bridge is slightly sloped, going in to the distance, meaning its not that exact shape, in a vertical section. If you use a section oriented perpemdicular to the bridge shape, it will let you dimension it.

  3.    #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 1, 2019
    Location
    Szczecin PL/Hamburg DE
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    09:37 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    So the only solution is to create detail line und dimension detai line? I can't make sloped section that will be perpendicular to "tunnel", because people on building site wont understand it (it is not a normal practice to make a sloped sections). The funny thing is that, that all bridges that I have to design and draw are sloped... Additionally this bridge is made in such way that in vercital sections all edges are lines and arc. When I will make the section sloped, than it will be lines and elipses...

    BR

  4.    #4
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,519
    Current Local Time
    02:37 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yeah. Im not telling you its awesome, im just telling you how it is. I did my first Bridge in Revit in 2009. Doing bridges in Revit kind of sucks.

  5.    #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    November 4, 2012
    Posts
    43
    Current Local Time
    09:37 AM

    6 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Twiceroadsfool is right, however in Revit 2019 if you press tab before placing the witness line it will let you create a dimension, as it will select the 'cut edge' as a reference. This was a new feature in 2019:

    Dimensions for curved objects in section views

    Dimensions now work on view-specific geometry such as edges and points created by a view cut plane, enhancing the end-to-end workflow for bridges as well as supporting documentation for complex architectural forms.

  6.    #6
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,519
    Current Local Time
    02:37 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Oh wow. I didnt even know that was there!

  7.    #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 1, 2019
    Location
    Szczecin PL/Hamburg DE
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    09:37 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    We will switch to Revit 2020 in 1-2 weeks. So there is still a hope . Actually we are working with 2018.

Similar Threads

  1. how to make dimensions to display family parameter
    By john34500 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 24th, 2019, 12:50 PM
  2. 3D section Box and numeric dimensions
    By ChristopherLondon in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 7th, 2017, 03:39 PM
  3. Make a change, delete dimensions...really?
    By Defiant1 in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: July 1st, 2016, 11:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •