Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2174 USD (87%)

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Swept blend - how to connect two solids

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 1, 2019
    Location
    Szczecin PL/Hamburg DE
    Posts
    10
    Current Local Time
    04:19 PM

    Swept blend - how to connect two solids

    Hello again

    I have an issue with swept blend operation. I received a path from designer and I have to make a reinforcement concrete block. The path consist of two arcs but not tangent to each other. I created two independed swept blend - each on each arc. Due to fact that arcs are not tangential there are a collision and gap in common point. Have anybody idea hot to connect those two solids? I tried to connect it by the use of all functions but at the end it does not look nice. In attachment example model, in pictures real model and my attempt to connection.

    Thanks in advance for help.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.PNG   2.PNG  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Junior Member WelcomeToAccord's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 5, 2018
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    37
    Current Local Time
    10:19 AM

    Lightbulb A Single Solid Sweep

    If the arcs aren't tangent to each other, they won't join cleanly. I would place a guideline arc at the center of your entire sweep's points and create a single solid sweep. Using two solid sweeps will cause your issue. A single solid sweep should solve the issue. I'll do some testing on my end. Let me know if that solved the issue.

  3. #3
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,151
    Current Local Time
    10:19 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by tomsson View Post
    ...Have anybody idea hot to connect those two solids? ...
    What if you don't connect them, but instead, use a single path, with a spline?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2019-07-15_15-54-25.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	40.6 KB 
ID:	37006

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 1, 2019
    Location
    Szczecin PL/Hamburg DE
    Posts
    10
    Current Local Time
    04:19 PM
    Thanks for answers.

    @Welcometoaccord
    The thing is that I have to use swept blend instead of sweep, because the cross section is not the same at the ends. Sweept blend does not allow to use a path consist of more than one line/arc.

    @Alfredo Medina
    Spline would be great but I do not know how to draw it with the best accuracy. In revit exist only the one type of "spline input" (which I never use). I made a spline in autocad but unfortunately Revit does not want to use it.

  5. #5
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,151
    Current Local Time
    10:19 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by tomsson View Post
    Thanks for answers.

    ...
    Spline would be great but I do not know how to draw it with the best accuracy. In revit exist only the one type of "spline input" (which I never use). I made a spline in autocad but unfortunately Revit does not want to use it.
    Well, then try. What else are you going to do?. Draw the spline by clicking points, following this shape that you already have. Click on the start, mid, and end points of the arcs that you already have. Once you start drawing it, you will see that you can move, add and subtract points.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Posts
    877
    Current Local Time
    12:19 AM
    The spline method you can use through autocad.
    It is true that autocad spline direct to revit will not work however.
    What you need to do is create points from the spline in autocad, then use the point file through a dynamo script to create automatically the points for the extrusion in revit.

    Dynamo has an "out of the box" script premade to do this function, I will see if I can find out what its called, but in the interim know that it does exist and perhaps start searching for it.

    We have used this script to create tunnels, and elevated rail bridges, so I know for a fact it works.
    We used axes created in autocad 3D which are 3D splines essentially, created points from them, and then exported them to revit and extruded complicated forms along those paths. I have no doubt it would work easily for a small and simpler form such as that shown.

    I will let you know if I can find the script

  7.    #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Posts
    877
    Current Local Time
    12:19 AM
    if you do this as two seperate sweeps but within the SAME in-situ family, they will join when you "join geometry"

Similar Threads

  1. Swept Blend Extension
    By lallanji in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 4th, 2014, 05:59 PM
  2. Please help with Swept blend
    By bhsdesigner in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 17th, 2013, 09:52 PM
  3. Seemingly simple swept blend please help
    By jonac in forum Architecture - Conceptual Massing and Adaptive Components
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: March 30th, 2012, 10:13 PM
  4. Swept blend
    By assem in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2011, 01:10 PM
  5. Swept Blend on Double Curve
    By narlee in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: June 5th, 2011, 01:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •