Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: multiple versions of navisworks

  1. #1
    Member evan.dodds's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 29, 2014
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    219
    Current Local Time
    10:07 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    multiple versions of navisworks

    Is it necessary to have multiple versions of navisworks installed on your computer, or do you only need one (the most current?).

    My office doesn't really (read practically never) use navisworks so I am fairly unfamiliar with how it works. I've always had each version of navis installed to match which versions of revit we have installed on the computers for my office. It looks like the only thing that I need is the export utility for each navis version and then I can just open the nwc file in whatever version of navis?

  2. #2
    Forum Addict tzframpton's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17, 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,055
    Current Local Time
    11:07 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Most current is all you need.

    -TZ

  3. #3
    Member HansLammerts's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 22, 2011
    Posts
    476
    Current Local Time
    04:07 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Highly unusual for Autodesk sake. For as long as it exists.
    Last edited by HansLammerts; July 2nd, 2019 at 06:20 PM.

  4. #4
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,005
    Current Local Time
    09:07 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by HansLammerts View Post
    Highly unusual for Autodesk sake. For as long as it exists.
    Perfect example, you're not answering a question...just throwing shade at Autodesk. Why do you even spend time here? Is that what you enjoy, casting shade? Don't you have more productive things to do?

  5. #5
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,508
    Current Local Time
    11:07 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Actually, to properly answer your question, there are a few additional things you might want to look in to:

    1. What licenses types you have
    2. How close you are to hitting your license count limits

    The reason being: The older Suite Licenses, each VERSION you had opened pulls an additional license. So if you are in Revit 2019 and Navisworks 2020, you are consuming two licenses. Meaning, if you have 50 people, and 50 licenses, youll run out before everyone gets a license. For those offices, i have (sadly) seen some firms keep ALL of the platforms on the version that user currently needs, on the machines (which is a terrible way to manage, second in lousiness only to putting ALL versions of ALL platforms on every machine, which- youll find- eats up a Hard Drive stupid fast). Basically their rules are: If your project is in Revit 2018, then you use Autocad 2018 and navis 2018... if you are in 2020, you use navis 2020 and AutoCAD 2020).

    The new Collections licenses are way better about it, at least, when using the Named Account licensing: if a user is signed in on the machine, it doesnt matter what they open (from the same collection). So revit 2020, Revit 2019, AutoCAD 2018, etc. It doesnt penalize.

    There have occasionally been some funky things with upgrading NWF's to the newer versions, but not many, and not often. As Tannar said, we only keep the latest version of Navis on our machines (because the licensing thing isnt an issue here).

  6. #6
    Member HansLammerts's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 22, 2011
    Posts
    476
    Current Local Time
    04:07 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Stafford View Post
    Perfect example, you're not answering a question...just throwing shade at Autodesk. Why do you even spend time here? Is that what you enjoy, casting shade? Don't you have more productive things to do?
    Just pointing out every software has a lifetime circle. That's all. In case of Navisworks i think we are near the end of it. Don't take it so personal. Don't bite my head of right away.
    Last edited by HansLammerts; July 2nd, 2019 at 08:48 PM.

  7. #7
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,005
    Current Local Time
    09:07 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by HansLammerts View Post
    Just pointing out every software has a lifetime circle. That's all. In case of Navisworks i thing we are near the end.
    No, if you were you would have written that instead. Useless...

  8. #8
    Member HansLammerts's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 22, 2011
    Posts
    476
    Current Local Time
    04:07 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The question was already answered. So yes, anything that comes next is either useless or to debate further.

  9. #9
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,508
    Current Local Time
    11:07 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hey- I just want to make sure: can we get a moderator or an admin to clarify: Does this mean once a thread is answered, its okay to let the posts that come after the answer be a free for all about whatever we want? Asking for a friend.

  10. #10
    Member evan.dodds's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 29, 2014
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    219
    Current Local Time
    10:07 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    The reason being: The older Suite Licenses, each VERSION you had opened pulls an additional license. So if you are in Revit 2019 and Navisworks 2020, you are consuming two licenses. Meaning, if you have 50 people, and 50 licenses, youll run out before everyone gets a license. For those offices, i have (sadly) seen some firms keep ALL of the platforms on the version that user currently needs, on the machines (which is a terrible way to manage, second in lousiness only to putting ALL versions of ALL platforms on every machine, which- youll find- eats up a Hard Drive stupid fast). Basically their rules are: If your project is in Revit 2018, then you use Autocad 2018 and navis 2018... if you are in 2020, you use navis 2020 and AutoCAD 2020).
    Definitely more concerned about Hard Drive space as our current machines only have 256GB SDDs on them... Since I've never really used Navisworks (as I stated, our office hardly uses Navisworks), I've just thrown all versions on there to match what we've installed for Revit as I assumed file versions functioned the same way. Licensing is not an issue since we are aligned with the per User/Computer licenses (we don't do named accounts, yet...).

Similar Threads

  1. Revit - IFC versions
    By MARIA1993 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 19th, 2017, 06:43 AM
  2. New IFC versions in Revit.
    By sabari2504 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 20th, 2017, 07:31 AM
  3. Update Versions
    By Gabriel Black in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 30th, 2014, 07:46 AM
  4. convert Revit multiple 3D views to Navisworks views
    By Ning Zhou in forum Coordination Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 19th, 2014, 03:50 AM
  5. Older versions
    By rubensjr1 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 27th, 2013, 03:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •