Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2249 USD (90%)

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: how link Yes / No visibility shared parameter in détail family

  1. #1
    Junior Member ricomarcoux's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 9, 2018
    Location
    Drummondville, Qc. Canada
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    12:40 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    how link Yes / No visibility shared parameter in détail family

    Hi,
    I have a question and would like to know if i can do anything without use global parameter.
    I work with Revit 2019 (structure).
    I create a detail family for a lot of typical detail use in all project. The problem is a have to use this details family in french, english, imperial and metric.
    I create 1 family with symbols inside linked with a yes / no shared parameter visibility. one in french and other with english.
    I believed if i put the shared parameter in project information will link all my family. Just have to put my family inside the project and will control the parameter with the project information for all my visibilty shared parameter but that not working.
    The only way i found is use global parameter but when i load a new detail family in my project I have to link the parameter with the global parameter.
    Anyone have a idea how can link Shared parameter of the family with project information?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Junior Member ricomarcoux's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 9, 2018
    Location
    Drummondville, Qc. Canada
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    12:40 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Someone can help me?

  3. #3
    Member CRapai's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 30, 2015
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    270
    Current Local Time
    12:40 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    As far as I know the only way to do this is with global parameters and the only way to automate the link between the family parameter and the global would be to use dynamo. If these families are in every project then you could just build them into your template.

    If they need to be inserted after project start I would try loading them with dynamo using the data-shapes package to create a pop-up pull-down for your families. Then after it inserts it have it associate the parameters.

    https://forum.dynamobim.com/t/associ...-project/29340

  4. #4
    Junior Member ricomarcoux's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 9, 2018
    Location
    Drummondville, Qc. Canada
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    12:40 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thank you!
    I never work with Dynamo. I think is time to begin it!

  5. #5
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,153
    Current Local Time
    12:40 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If I am understanding this correctly, you need to show the same detail family in different ways in different views. Since this family is a detail item, it will exist only in the view where you place it. Therefore, you could make the same family display differently by using either one of these methods: 1) a family type parameter in the detail family, to swap nested detail families 2) Types in the family with visibility parameters, 3) Subcategories in the detail family, configuring visibility of subcategories in each view.

    All the other topics that you have mentioned, global parameters, shared parameters, project information, Dynamo, are not necessary for this purpose.

  6. #6
    Junior Member ricomarcoux's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 9, 2018
    Location
    Drummondville, Qc. Canada
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    12:40 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    No my detail is a typical detail and I will put them on my typical detail sheet. But at the begening of the project I have to choose if the project is french, english and imprerial or metric.
    My detail family have a visibility shared parameter for having the good text vs the project. I attach one of the detail.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Junior Member ricomarcoux's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 9, 2018
    Location
    Drummondville, Qc. Canada
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    12:40 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    When I started the project, I have choose the language and the Unit of the project. What I would like is check the language and the unit for having the good visibility in details family

  8. #8
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,153
    Current Local Time
    12:40 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I understand this better, after looking at the family that you posted. This is how you could organize this:

    In the detail family(/es), create two integer parameters:

    • Language
    • Units

    Assign a value of 1 to your first language and 2 to the second. Assign 1 to your first units and 2 to the second.
    Then reorganize the parameters in this way:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2019-07-16_18-51-55.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	206.7 KB 
ID:	37021

    In the project, create two global integer parameters:

    • Language
    • Units


    Select your detail family(es), Edit Type, and associate Language to Language, Format to Format.

  9. #9
    Member CRapai's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 30, 2015
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    270
    Current Local Time
    12:40 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    My understanding is that he knows how to setup all the needed parameters but wanted to know if there was a way to associate the family parameters with the global ones automatically or find another way of controlling the family parameters. Like I said the only thing I can think of is making a dynamo script that inserts and then associates the family parameters with global ones.

Similar Threads

  1. Detail Item / Visibility Parameter
    By sevedge4 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 26th, 2018, 08:54 PM
  2. visibility detail component in family
    By peter smith in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 16th, 2018, 10:54 PM
  3. Control family visibility with shared project parameter
    By Carchee in forum MEP - Family Creation
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: June 24th, 2016, 09:13 PM
  4. Could i change family parameter to shared parameter?
    By dedo in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 19th, 2014, 01:11 PM
  5. Detail line visibility in room tag family
    By byk3bep in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 17th, 2014, 07:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •