Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2249 USD (90%)

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 55

Thread: Fyi- forum is still down for a lot of us.

  1. #1
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,421
    Current Local Time
    03:11 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Fyi- forum is still down for a lot of us.

    I've let a few folks know, but the forum isn't working for many people. In my case, I've troubleshot it to something that changed on the forums end that makes it inaccessible from my ISP all together.

    If I shut down WiFi on my phone, and get on cellular data, i can see the forum. If I use a browser with a VPN tunnel elsewhere, I can see it but can't post properly.

    Not just me, btw. It's happening for a bunch of people tweeting and emailing about it. So it isn't ACTUALLY my ISP.

    And yes, I understand it isn't affecting everyone. Just thought the admins would want to know that's why a lot of us aren't here.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,355
    Current Local Time
    10:11 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    This morning the forum was gone all together for me.
    Right now it works on my workstation (Chrome, Firefox and Edge) and my phone (Chrome and Tapatalk).

  3. #3
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,046
    Current Local Time
    03:11 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I was unable to get in all day yesterday, but (obviously) I'm back in today.
    Nothing has changed on my end, before or after.

  4. #4
    Member FBlome's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    93
    Current Local Time
    01:11 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    if you (us, not RevitForum) know how, sometimes changing DNS servers fixes this. So say if your ISP is Comcast, switch your DNS to GoogleDNS or OpenDNS. That's why sometimes switching to cell service or a VPN works. Sometimes.
    Last edited by FBlome; April 26th, 2019 at 03:13 PM.

  5. #5
    The Moderator with No Imagination MPwuzhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Coeur d Alene, ID
    Posts
    4,824
    Current Local Time
    01:11 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I've checked quite a few of those "is it up" sites and each say that we are up and running. The fact that it is happening to multiple states and even countries is bothersome, but there isn't much us mods can do.

    I just did a ping test that pings from multiple locations and it was 50/50 on up or down and a DNS test does show that the Nameservers for cloudflare.com may have a DNS Forwarding issue.

  6. #6
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,421
    Current Local Time
    03:11 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by FBlome View Post
    if you (us, not RevitForum) know how, sometimes changing DNS servers fixes this. So say if your ISP is Comcast, switch your DNS to GoogleDNS or OpenDNS. That's why sometimes switching to cell service or a VPN works. Sometimes.
    Sure. But many folks are not about to mess with company internet settings, just to visit a forum for Revit. Hell, I'm in charge of our companies network, and I'm still not going to do it.

    Because nothing changed on our ends. Whatever happened, isn't isolated for users.

    I guess it just means the forum gets an indefinite break from me, til it resolves itself, somehow. :shrug: Not much else than can be done, If the admin staff and Hosting Provider can't do something about it.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    2,979
    Current Local Time
    01:11 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Forum came up at the office and I tried to reply, stopped being accessible at that point. This post is using my phone, hours later.

  8. #8
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,421
    Current Local Time
    03:11 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    From my phone on wifi, it's working again this morning. That's a good sign. Will check from computers tonight.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,421
    Current Local Time
    03:11 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Appears to be back to normal on our office computers, as well.

  10. #10
    Administrator Munkholm's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Kingdom of Denmark
    Posts
    4,236
    Current Local Time
    10:11 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I´ve just upgraded vBulletin, and am hoping that will fix the issues ?

Similar Threads

  1. New in the forum/new in MEP
    By jansolo in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 25th, 2015, 12:31 AM
  2. What's up with the forum?
    By Charles Karl in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 20th, 2015, 03:17 PM
  3. ASD sub forum.
    By lucis29 in forum Forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: August 25th, 2011, 01:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •