Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Coarse,Medium and Fine

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    February 9, 2018
    Location
    Va Beach, VA
    Posts
    109
    Current Local Time
    10:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Coarse,Medium and Fine

    May I ask-do you all work in any particular detail level.
    While trying to understand why the REF label (Refrigerator) transfers through to my upper floor, this question has come to mind.
    I have always used Fine in everything, even converting to PDFs and printing/plotting.
    Wondering is anyone has any thoughts on this-maybe dimensioning, printing etc could/would be better/easier?
    Thanks!
    Gary

  2. #2
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,528
    Current Local Time
    05:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I rarely worry about them.

    For my libraries, this is how its set up:

    Medium is everything you NEED in your documents.
    Fine is "extra glitter" that doesnt add production value, but might make things look nicer.
    Coarse is actually missing some small items that you might care about (louvers are missing blades, some items are missing handles, etc).

    But i dont do redundant geometry at all. So the OOTB Steel columns that have a squared off version AND a filleted version at med and fine, arent like that here. The Fine versin is both Med and Fine.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    February 9, 2018
    Location
    Va Beach, VA
    Posts
    109
    Current Local Time
    10:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I do mostly residential.
    Wonder if anyone who does mostly residential uses maybe coarse to make it easier for the framer to read?
    Never could control why the REF label transfers to all floors!?

  4. #4
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,528
    Current Local Time
    05:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You are conflating two different issues.

    Coarse/Medium/Fine has nothing to do with that annotation, EXCEPT thats how someone built that lousy refrigerator family. It shows up on all levels because your view range on those levels still hits the level that has the fridge on it.

    Other options include:

    1. Dont use a GA in the refrigerator
    2. Adjust your view ranges so they arent seeing the first floor with the fridge
    3. Use a Filter on the Appliances (after altering how the appliances are made)

    Using LOD to accomplish this task may seem like an easy answer, right up until you get a piece of content that shows the GA at every LOD.

  5. #5
    Member scourdx's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 4, 2013
    Posts
    57
    Current Local Time
    03:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It depends on your drawing scale. For scale 1:100 or 1/8" I would set it as course. If you set to medium or fine, the wall object looks like a giant heap of mess due to multiple line drawn so close to each other.

    1:50 or 1/4" - set it as course or medium depending on the drawing you are producing

    1:25 or 1/2" - set it as medium or fine depending on the drawing you are producing

    My old school mentor always tell me - less information you have, the less lawsuit you will get.

  6. #6
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,661
    Current Local Time
    03:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by scourdx View Post
    My old school mentor always tell me - less information you have, the less lawsuit you will get.
    Thatĺs... ridiculous. Betting your mentor wasnĺt a lawyer, right?

  7. #7
    Member scourdx's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 4, 2013
    Posts
    57
    Current Local Time
    03:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    There is a merit in his point of view. He came from old school where any line represent on paper means contractor will try to extract as much value when Architect draw something that isn't suppose to be there. I've work on a job where contractor did that. It wasn't fun.

  8. #8
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,528
    Current Local Time
    05:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by scourdx View Post
    There is a merit in his point of view. He came from old school where any line represent on paper means contractor will try to extract as much value when Architect draw something that isn't suppose to be there. I've work on a job where contractor did that. It wasn't fun.
    We disagree. I don't ever show walls at Coarse LOD. Who says that information "isn't supposed go be there?" That's an opinion, not a fact.

    Information that's WRONG shouldn't be shown, but if it's correct at 1:96 and 1:48 and 1:24, it's not going to get someone sued.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Member scourdx's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 4, 2013
    Posts
    57
    Current Local Time
    03:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Different region has different ways of producing their drawings. It isn't going to be one solution fits all. Maybe over at your location, you want show everything and have honest contractors that wants to work as team. Here, we have very few good contractors and a lot of bad one wants to make as much money by pointing out design team mistake. This is why Architects are protecting themselves from the predatory contractors. Of course clients want to hire cheapest contractors and get their building built fast. We are stuck with these people.

  10. #10
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,528
    Current Local Time
    05:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    But you are talking about *mistakes.* Meaning something at 1/16" or 1/8" is WRONG, when you show more information. C/M/F isnt going to solve that. If its wrong, itll be wrong at larger scale too.

    No geographical considerations change that.

Similar Threads

  1. sweeping a windowprofiel, coarse and medium
    By peter smith in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 4th, 2018, 02:43 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 8th, 2013, 08:07 PM
  3. Cut Fill Patterns - Filter results different between Coarse and Fine
    By sdbrownaia in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 9th, 2011, 05:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •