Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2249 USD (90%)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Autodesk Software Review

  1. #1
    Member Mike Ferrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    60
    Current Local Time
    12:35 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Autodesk Software Review

    So we received an email telling us that
    As part of Autodesk's on-going Software Asset Management Program, your company has been selected to undergo a required software compliance audit.
    The email totally looks like a fishing scam. However when we looked into it, it does appear to be legitimate. So now we have to take company time to perform an audit for Autodesk to prove that we're using their software correctly. What a total pain. Thankfully we're just a little 3 person team.

    To top things off the website they direct you to, to do the reporting is terrible. Its very confusing trying to figure out where to download the software your supposed to run to scan your system.

    And I start reading the quick start guide and one of the first instructions is to "Click the Continue Trial button" to install the software. Really Autodesk? Trial software? You can't pay for or build your own software?

    Just doesn't seem right to me. Thanks for letting me rant.

  2. #2
    The Moderator with No Imagination MPwuzhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Coeur d Alene, ID
    Posts
    4,824
    Current Local Time
    09:35 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Looks like a lot of people think it is a phishing e-mail, but it is real.
    https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/insta...t/td-p/6868437

  3. #3
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,424
    Current Local Time
    11:35 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    LOL, i'm fine with taking (some) time to demonstrate that im in compliance, but god help them if i ever get an email asking me to install their own scanning **** on my computers.

    Isn't ever happening, and isn't even up for discussion.

  4. #4
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,355
    Current Local Time
    06:35 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yeah got one of those a few years ago when I was still working for my boss.
    The one managing the info@ email box almost deleted it, because it looked fake indeed, but I instructed her well enough to at least check with me when it says anything Autodesk.
    Talked to my reseller about that back then and he advised me to get the data and send it to Autodesk or it could be that at some point they would be at your office checking things themselves. I could gather info manually back then without installing any software, but I did have the option to install the software.
    But as Aaron says, NOPE !

  5. #5
    Member Mike Ferrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    60
    Current Local Time
    12:35 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    LOL, i'm fine with taking (some) time to demonstrate that im in compliance, but god help them if i ever get an email asking me to install their own scanning **** on my computers.

    Isn't ever happening, and isn't even up for discussion.
    That's exactly what it is. And its some sketchy third party scanner that is mega confusing its so poorly designed. I'd be fine with some little app from Autodesk to just check to make sure everything is all good and it phones home to the mother ship. I actually though the licence manager was already doing that in the background.

  6. #6
    Senior Member kamranmirza's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 12, 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    562
    Current Local Time
    05:35 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Deurloo View Post
    . . . and he advised me to get the data and send it to Autodesk or it could be that at some point they would be at your office checking things themselves . . .
    I thought normally people need a warrant issued by a magistrate / judge to do stuff like that in rule-of-law countries ???

  7. #7
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,355
    Current Local Time
    06:35 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    There have been raids of offices in Holland and other countries. I'm guessing they go a judge and bring the police if there is suspicion of illegal software use.

  8. #8
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,424
    Current Local Time
    11:35 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    So i had this same email in my inbox today.

    I went through their website instructions (filling out company information), until i got to the part where it told me to install software on all of my machines. I skipped that section, then got to the comments/messages section, and sent them this:

    To whom it concerns-


    I am the Director of Parallax Team, and we are a BIM Consultancy that primarily focuses on Autodesk Software. We are 2 full time employees (on a shared network) and one part time staffer (not on the network). Our current licenses are as follows:


    (2)- AECC Single User Licenses (we sign in with BIM360 accounts)
    (2)- BDSU NLM Licenses (on FlexLM server on our network)
    (1)- Revit only Single User License (part time employee signs in with BIM 360 account).


    I am happy to help you complete your audit as necessary, but we will NOT be installing any "auditing or reporting software" anywhere in our company infrastructure, for this audit. Im happy to provide you with any other information you need, including getting on a Zoom meeting to let you look at the NLM or our Autodesk Accounts entitlements pages. But nothing is getting installed here, as part of the audit, and that decision is final.


    Thank you for understanding!
    I guess we will see how big of a deal it is. :shrug:

  9. #9
    The Moderator with No Imagination MPwuzhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Coeur d Alene, ID
    Posts
    4,824
    Current Local Time
    09:35 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Going after folks with actual licenses....not going for those getting away with Student Licenses. Wish they would bring back the border or watermark for those.

  10. #10
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,424
    Current Local Time
    11:35 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Well, to be fair, they arent "going after us," its just a license audit. And they did reach out on twitter, and say they would have the person handling the account reach out directly. So... we will see. Zero chance of that application getting installed anywhere, though.

Similar Threads

  1. Model Review Software
    By alexo4141 in forum Third party Add-Ins, API and R&D
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 29th, 2015, 03:44 AM
  2. What technology do you use to deploy updates to Autodesk software in your company
    By Archman in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 3rd, 2014, 10:04 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 8th, 2013, 12:15 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 20th, 2012, 12:15 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 2nd, 2012, 10:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •