Affichage des résultats 1 à 2 sur 2

Discussion: Hvac zone boundary with revit api

  1. #1
    New Member
    Date d'inscription
    avril 2016
    Messages
    1
    Heure locale
    23h19

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Hvac zone boundary with revit api

    I am struggling for a solution to developing a list of spaces located within an HVAC Zone. I am using Dynamo 2.0.1. The custom steam node Tools.GetSurroundingElements is not working.

    Several posts I have researched talk about getting the boundary of the HVAC Zone using the Revit API and then checking to see if the spaces are within that boundary. The second part is simple enough but since I have no python coding experience (or any significant coding experience at all) the first part is kicking my butt.

    I've looked at the boundary object on Boundary Property but do not know how to write a python script to input a list of zones and output a list of those zones with boundary coordinates.

    Has anyone ever done anything like this? Willing to put in the work if someone can point me in the right direction.

    Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Forum Addict Avatar de josephpeel
    Date d'inscription
    mai 2012
    Messages
    1 402
    Heure locale
    06h19

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Isnt HVAC zone a property of the spaces themselves? You can see the name in the Zone parameter of a space.
    I dont think the zones really have any geometry/boundaries of their own, its more just a collection of the relevant spaces.
    So you could group Spaces by Zone and then merge their geometry into one 3D volume in Dynamo to check what is in inside it.

    Personally I find the functionality of HVAC Zones to be really limited. But I have done similar things before using Area Plans.
    Area boundaries are really reliable and stable (Unlike space boundaries) and Spaces can only belong to one Zone but you can make as many different area plan Types as you need (For example for Electrical purposes the spaces may need to be divided up differently than for HVAC purposes).
    If you sketch Areas on a floor plan and then also fill in the Spaces, you can use Dynamo to check which spaces are in which Area and then transfer data between them.

    For example if someone sketches something like the Fire Compartments in an Area Plan you can extrude these Areas into 3D blocks in Dynamo (Floor to floor height). Then check which Spaces intersect the 3D volume. Then get the parameter for 'Fire Compartment Name' from the Area and write it into the parameter in the correct Spaces.
    Could you use something like that to achieve what you want?

    In general, there are a few ways to check if things are inside each other. The 'Nearby Elements' node is quite brute force as it gets the geometry of the Space and all other elements and checks if they intersect. You can do this using standard nodes with Element Geometry and the Geometry Does Intersect node. It can be a lot more efficient/faster/reliable to only get one large piece of geometry (For example an extruded area) and only Points from the Element.Location of the spaces or families and check that.
    Dernière modification par josephpeel ; 27/11/2018 à 10h19.

Discussions similaires

  1. Nomenclature qui reprend la définition d'une zone crée par Zone de definition dans on
    Par docnet dans le forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Réponses: 0
    Dernier message: 12/06/2018, 12h45
  2. Concrete Zone Quantity - Revit Addin
    Par rladygks20 dans le forum Third party Add-Ins, API and R&D
    Réponses: 1
    Dernier message: 28/02/2018, 12h36
  3. HVAC Zone area?
    Par BenMiller dans le forum MEP - General
    Réponses: 1
    Dernier message: 08/10/2014, 19h42
  4. revit hvac
    Par aamirtanoli dans le forum MEP - General
    Réponses: 1
    Dernier message: 30/04/2014, 17h19
  5. Color Scheme to a HVAC Zone
    Par DMapes dans le forum MEP - General
    Réponses: 0
    Dernier message: 06/07/2012, 16h38

Les tags pour cette discussion

Règles de messages

  • Vous ne pouvez pas créer de nouvelles discussions
  • Vous ne pouvez pas envoyer des réponses
  • Vous ne pouvez pas envoyer des pièces jointes
  • Vous ne pouvez pas modifier vos messages
  •