Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to create a cascade slab family??

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    March 13, 2013
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    11:52 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Question How to create a cascade slab family??

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	asdasfasdadad.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	519.2 KB 
ID:	11755

    Hi all,

    I'm trying to model my senior design project in Revit. However it is a extra and I don't have a experienced person in my network. So ı need a little help.

    Project's challenge is using post tensioned cascade slab for a conference hall. I used a lot of elevation in order to create a slab which is shown ind the screeshoot. However, it is very hard to modify all of the steps one by one, I need a parametric cascade slab. Do you know how I can create such an family file? I'm not too experienced, I'm using this program just for 2 weeks. Could someone explanin me how to create this type of family file?

    thank you for your attention,

  2. #2
    Senior Member JBZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 17, 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    677
    Current Local Time
    01:52 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Unfortunately the slab editing tools won't allow a curved 'split line' so off the top of my head, if that is the final look of what you need then:
    1) How it appears is good...
    or
    2) Create a super thick slab and use an in-place floor family void (multiple extrusions in one in-place family) and use those void to "cut" the floor as desired...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3-15-2013 2-06-36 PM.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	43.0 KB 
ID:	11757
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 3-15-2013 2-00-20 PM.png  
    Last edited by JBZ; March 15th, 2013 at 09:09 PM. Reason: Syntax correction...OK new image too ;-)

  3. #3
    Senior Member JBZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 17, 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    677
    Current Local Time
    01:52 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Or dare I say use stairs??? Will this need to be scheduled as a 'floor'??? If so disregard the 'stair' option...

  4. #4
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,236
    Current Local Time
    03:52 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I was about to say the exact same thing, but then thought about scheduling and whatever else floors can do that stairs can't.

    As for editing them, It looks like they are all identical. Are they? If so, you could just edit one, delete the others, Go so a section or elevations and copy them from point to point again.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    March 13, 2013
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    11:52 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    @JBZ
    I see but I intended to use autodesk quantitiy take off for cost calculations :/

    @datto
    Sorry dzatto, I don't understand "If so, you could just edit one, delete the others, Go so a section or elevations and copy them from point to point again." could you open that ? And is there a difference between slab and stairs when I'm doing quantitity take off, Could I put some rebars to the stairs as well ?

Similar Threads

  1. Truss Family Hidden by Slab
    By gdoherty0102 in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 7th, 2012, 07:27 PM
  2. Slab Thickening Using Floor Based Family
    By MartinGT in forum Structure - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 10th, 2012, 08:34 PM
  3. How to create Slab Level Drop?
    By Yan Naing Bo in forum Structure - Family Creation
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 26th, 2011, 06:31 AM
  4. mount face based family onto underside of slab
    By Ning Zhou in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 1st, 2011, 03:13 AM
  5. Create a slab from contours - 3D polylines
    By jh75 in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2011, 03:23 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •