Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Transfer family parameters

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    August 23, 2017
    Posts
    10
    Current Local Time
    10:53 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Transfer family parameters

    Hi,

    I am looking for a way to transfer a set of parameters from 1 family to another. A bit like transfer project standards, but then with family parameters.

    I came along a couple of interesting threads, but none of them seem to provide a solution:

    Parameter Jerk:
    https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/revit...r/td-p/4346844
    However, the latest release is for 2014. Does not work on 2018.

    Shared Parameter Converter:
    https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/revit...t/td-p/6964938
    However, user quote: "It appears the shared parameters converter has been removed by AutoDesk on purpose."

    So, I was wondering: Do you guys have a way of doing this?

    THanks in advance for your help!

    JN

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    August 23, 2017
    Posts
    10
    Current Local Time
    10:53 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Did some more googling. found this:
    https://apps.autodesk.com/RVT/en/Det...autostart=true
    Seems to be what i am looking for.
    Last edited by jnoordzij; April 12th, 2018 at 02:39 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    August 23, 2017
    Posts
    10
    Current Local Time
    10:53 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    After a bit of testing:

    Looks promising, but it only lets me transfer Type parameters, not Instances.
    Furthermore, shared parameters are transfered as family parameters.

    If you have any further advice, please.
    Last edited by jnoordzij; April 12th, 2018 at 02:40 PM.

  4. #4
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,573
    Current Local Time
    02:53 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    CTC Family Processor works on all types of parameters.

    Sent from my Phablet. Please excuse typos... and bad ideas.

    Aaron Maller
    Director
    Parallax Team, Inc.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    January 19, 2012
    Posts
    337
    Current Local Time
    02:53 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I'd go with CTC's tool, but I did see a "free" app in the Autodesk App Store that could do it for free if the budget is tight. It was last night & after reviewing official Revit 2019 stuff I was too tired & loaded with other info to be able to retain the name of that app.

    Basically it will take specified parameters in a family & load them into other families.
    Last edited by cftrevizo; April 12th, 2018 at 03:12 PM.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    June 8, 2018
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    04:53 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just load the family with the parameters on to one without them. Then delete the inserted family parts. The wanted parameters will stay in both families



    Quote Originally Posted by cftrevizo View Post
    I'd go with CTC's tool, but I did see a "free" app in the Autodesk App Store that could do it for free if the budget is tight. It was last night & after reviewing official Revit 2019 stuff I was too tired & loaded with other info to be able to retain the name of that app.

    Basically it will take specified parameters in a family & load them into other families.

Similar Threads

  1. 2015 Family Upgrader (revised)- Transfer Project Standard, Order Parameters, etc.
    By Twiceroadsfool in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 9th, 2014, 10:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •