Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wall based generic model - Height parameter

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 5, 2016
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    07:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Question Wall based generic model - Height parameter

    Hi,
    Im facing with problem that i can not beat, despite the fact that Ive read a lot of post.
    Im working on walls openings right now.
    The family ive attached used to be with shared parameters.
    My x parameter, that is result parameter, schould control geometric heigth, but when loaded to preject the only way to control it is by elevation parameter

    Family has some weird stuff, like Opening_Top,mid,bot parameters. Its problem slover of working with different construction industries. Some of them mesure their opening elevations to the bottom edge, others to the top.
    The Opening elevation value is measured from 00 level
    Important parameter is yes/no "Storey_above_00" it changes calculation rules.

    So, if electricity opening at the bottom edge is -80 and my Storey_elevation is -350 my famili calculate elevation from -01 lvl to the bottom edge (270), but i have to change elevation manualy. The x parameter is not "overriding it".

    Any ideas?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Algali; July 4th, 2018 at 01:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 5, 2012
    Posts
    48
    Current Local Time
    06:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I'm on an iPad right now but I noticed recently that if I associate my top of opening dimension to the reference PLANE that sits at the same height as the LEVEL in a WB family that it works as expected. Using the level ends up ignoring the height in the family environment.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 5, 2016
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    07:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Well, Sir it doesn't work maybe I should rework whole family, and start with that guidelines. But I would rather not.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 5, 2012
    Posts
    48
    Current Local Time
    06:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Can you post your family please?

  5. #5
    Forum Addict jmk's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 31, 2012
    Location
    NM, USA
    Posts
    1,477
    Current Local Time
    12:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    To control the placement height of a floating object hosted on a wall I think I end up putting in an invisible line extending from the reference level to the desired height every time, otherwise its sits the bottom of the object on the level.

  6. #6
    Member BLothian's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 11, 2013
    Location
    Livingston, Scotland
    Posts
    464
    Current Local Time
    07:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Also, ensure you place a ref plane the bottom of the wall, tick 'defines origin' and set your opening top parameter to it and your upper ref plane. I've done precisely this for a wall opening family and it works perfect but, without the ref plane at the base it doesn't and the default 'Elevation' instance parameter kicks in (even with the invisible line trick).
    Last edited by BLothian; July 6th, 2018 at 06:47 AM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 5, 2016
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    07:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yes, that's it! Thank you all so much!
    Im using "invisible line trick" to see opening's boundaries. So the problem was to tick origin at proper ref. plane.
    I had to set "basic" ref. plane as an origin. Now it works excellent.
    I had played with origin set, but I think I messed sth up :/


    Thanks again.

    Ps. Can't u see my family? I have attached it to my 1st post.
    Last edited by Algali; July 6th, 2018 at 06:47 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Sign ceiling based (generic model) below distance from level - PARAMETER
    By allan120791 in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 7th, 2016, 11:14 PM
  2. Floor based generic model - how to get dimension parameter into schedule?
    By therkelsenmeister in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 28th, 2016, 01:15 PM
  3. Creating a floor based and wall based generic model in a single family
    By PraveenPonnuru in forum Tutorials, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 10th, 2015, 04:16 PM
  4. Generic model wall based
    By dmodomino in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 27th, 2015, 07:35 PM
  5. Generic model wall based
    By bangobeat in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 29th, 2011, 06:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •