Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2249 USD (90%)

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to cleanup 2 files with different startup locations?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    April 12, 2015
    Posts
    63
    Current Local Time
    09:19 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    How to cleanup 2 files with different startup locations?

    I have 2 revit files done by different people. I've changed the project base point and survey point to be the same figures and the rotation angle etc to be the same, but when I do copy and paste to current view, the things don't match. Then I read about Revit startup location, and discovered that one of the startup location was on the right side the other file's startup location is at the left side.
    My question is : beside using shared coordinates and publish the coordinates to link them, is there any chance that I can reset them properly so they match perfectly from origin to origin?
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Member HansLammerts's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 22, 2011
    Posts
    475
    Current Local Time
    09:19 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Where did you read about 'startup location'? (I thought that a fourth coordination setting was a joke)

  3. #3
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,426
    Current Local Time
    04:19 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It's not a fourth. The OP is referencing the "Relative Origin."

    And only way to reallign THOSE is to pick up one of the models and shove it. I don't recommend it.

    Leave it where it is, and use Shared Coordinates. What are you copying and pasting between models, anyway, out of curiosity?

    Sent from my Phablet. Please excuse typos... and bad ideas.

    Aaron Maller
    Director
    Parallax Team, Inc.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    April 12, 2015
    Posts
    63
    Current Local Time
    09:19 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks for confirming it. Aaron.
    Not sure what we might be copying yet. But i think maybe some connecting linkways, ramps and road path etc when one of the building finish construction next year.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    April 12, 2015
    Posts
    63
    Current Local Time
    09:19 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by HansLammerts View Post
    Where did you read about 'startup location'? (I thought that a fourth coordination setting was a joke)
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...-Location.html

Similar Threads

  1. What Revit Wants: Cleanup and Move Revit Backup Files
    By luke.johnson in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 1st, 2017, 05:15 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 26th, 2016, 05:15 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 2nd, 2015, 02:34 AM
  4. - REX startup failed:
    By Sushobhan in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 23rd, 2015, 02:30 PM
  5. Script Error on Startup
    By Mel in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 29th, 2012, 09:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •