Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Sheet List - Label parameter values missing

  1. #1
    Member BLothian's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 11, 2013
    Location
    Livingston, Scotland
    Posts
    464
    Current Local Time
    07:44 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Sheet List - Label parameter values missing

    In my titleblocks I have a family type parameter which changes a generic annotation for each sheet's current drawing status.
    The SP is loaded into project parameters and works fine on the titleblocks however upon creating a sheet list, I've noticed the current value of the label in the schedule does not match the chosen value from the pulldown, nor does setting it in the schedule change the displayed option in the titleblock. Is it possible to get this to schedule and operate bidirectionally as how normal SP's operate?

  2. #2
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,530
    Current Local Time
    01:44 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    No, it's not possible (without the API or Dynamo). You're talking about two different categories: Sheets, and Titleblocks.

    A lot of people get confused because title blocks will display information from the sheet parameters. But you are talking about having a parameter alter the title block, and also show that information in the sheets schedule, which isn't possible.

    The closest you could get would be having Dynamo or an API app read the information from the title block, ask the title block what sheet it's on, and fill in a parameter for the sheet.

    Sent from my Phablet. Please excuse typos... and bad ideas.

    Aaron Maller
    Director
    Parallax Team, Inc.

  3. #3
    Member BLothian's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 11, 2013
    Location
    Livingston, Scotland
    Posts
    464
    Current Local Time
    07:44 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Gotcha,

    I have 2 other SP's which I use for Drawing Title information over 2 lines instead of word-wrapping the default Sheet Name parameter and they are accessible without the titleblock family being selected whereas the family type SP is only accessible with the titleblock selected. I do like a bit of programming but I've not yet gotten involved with Dynamo yet so I may change the titleblock to use an instance parameter for the drawing status.

  4. #4
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,530
    Current Local Time
    01:44 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by BLothian View Post
    Gotcha,

    I have 2 other SP's which I use for Drawing Title information over 2 lines instead of word-wrapping the default Sheet Name parameter and they are accessible without the titleblock family being selected whereas the family type SP is only accessible with the titleblock selected. I do like a bit of programming but I've not yet gotten involved with Dynamo yet so I may change the titleblock to use an instance parameter for the drawing status.
    Right. In the first example you're telling a titleblock (annotation) to read a sheet parameter.

    In the second example you're trying to tell a sheet to inherit a titleblock parameter. Or to able to schedule titleblocks.

    It's a similar issue as a nested family driving a parent family.

    Sent from my Phablet. Please excuse typos... and bad ideas.

    Aaron Maller
    Director
    Parallax Team, Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. Using label parameter values as family type parameters
    By eligt in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 7th, 2017, 10:08 PM
  2. Sheet Label Parameter
    By andyrh1982 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 26th, 2017, 05:00 PM
  3. Create Sheet Set from Sheet list
    By DMapes in forum Dynamo BIM
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 3rd, 2015, 05:19 PM
  4. Sheet list - How can I add a circle or dot parameter relating sheet names to phases?
    By yral87 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 18th, 2015, 07:48 PM
  5. Sheet just became a Detail View, but still listed in Sheet List
    By LeanneZ in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 25th, 2011, 09:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •