Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Light Switch size

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    April 29, 2011
    Location
    Pacifica, CA
    Posts
    18
    Current Local Time
    11:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Light Switch size

    It seems that I'm learning on the fly....but its a good thing.
    Is it possible to enlarge the size of the light switch on a plan view? (2D)
    My guess is through the Annotation?????

  2. #2
    Member Barth's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 2, 2013
    Posts
    301
    Current Local Time
    11:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Rev Dawg View Post
    It seems that I'm learning on the fly....but its a good thing.
    Is it possible to enlarge the size of the light switch on a plan view? (2D)
    My guess is through the Annotation?????
    Zooming in doesn't work for you? Seriously though: what do you mean by "enlarge"?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    April 29, 2011
    Location
    Pacifica, CA
    Posts
    18
    Current Local Time
    11:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    the size of the switch in a 2D plan is what I want to enlarge

  4. #4
    Member Barth's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 2, 2013
    Posts
    301
    Current Local Time
    11:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Rev Dawg View Post
    the size of the switch in a 2D plan is what I want to enlarge
    Sorry Dawg; still unclear. The typical size of a single switch plate is 3 1/2" wide by 5" high. Do you want to scale it in the view, or change its physical dimensions?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    April 29, 2011
    Location
    Pacifica, CA
    Posts
    18
    Current Local Time
    11:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The switch plate and the box can stay the same. just the 2D representation in a floor plan shows up too small for the engineer's taste.

  6. #6
    Member cganiere's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 5, 2011
    Location
    Orange County, California, USA
    Posts
    213
    Current Local Time
    11:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You can edit the family to add 2D lines as large as you like.

  7. #7
    Member Barth's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 2, 2013
    Posts
    301
    Current Local Time
    11:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Rev Dawg View Post
    The switch plate and the box can stay the same. just the 2D representation in a floor plan shows up too small for the engineer's taste.
    Then use symbols. This is common practice. We don't show plate geometry in plan; we show a symbol in its place. Are you in need of an electrical symbol library?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails single-pole_switch.jpg  
    Last edited by Barth; August 16th, 2017 at 11:35 PM. Reason: edit

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    April 29, 2011
    Location
    Pacifica, CA
    Posts
    18
    Current Local Time
    11:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    same here that's how we show it.. thank you. I was referring to the symbol that is shown on the 2D floor plan. You called it a symbol would that be an annotation family edit?

  9. #9
    Member Barth's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 2, 2013
    Posts
    301
    Current Local Time
    11:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yes. See attached.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. Flip side of Light Switch / GPO Tail.
    By Streetlube in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 15th, 2017, 02:40 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 9th, 2015, 04:14 PM
  3. Willing to switch
    By MPwuzhere in forum Hardware and Infrastructure
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: June 15th, 2013, 09:15 PM
  4. Switch System and Switch ID
    By Steven Thedens in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 10th, 2013, 06:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •