Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dynamo Trouble

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 1, 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    39
    Current Local Time
    03:32 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Dynamo Trouble

    I'm having trouble getting started with Dynamo. When I open the player in Revit, the window is empty, see image. Even when I try to open packages, it simply does not load it. This happens on all the Revit workstations on our office network.
    Btw, we are running Revit 2017 on Windows 10. We have uninstalled Dynamo, deleted all files and folders and registery entries for Dynamo, then reinstalled it, but still the same.
    Has anyone had this problem? I would really appreciate some help.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_02.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	257.5 KB 
ID:	29306

  2. #2
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,530
    Current Local Time
    02:32 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Player isn't for opening Packages. It's for listing graphs in a particular directory, so you can run them. There is nothing wrong with your system. Youre trying to use it incorrectly.

    Sent from my T1-A22L using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 1, 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    39
    Current Local Time
    03:32 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yes, but when I browse to the folders where the scripts are, it does not list any of them. As per the help here: Help

    What am I doing wrong?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    February 2, 2011
    Location
    Montreal/Paris
    Posts
    829
    Current Local Time
    02:32 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Packages are not definitions
    Think of packgages as snippet of codes all put together WITHIN a definition.
    The folder you should be pointing to is C:\ProgramData\Dynamo\Dynamo Revit\1.2\samples\en-US\Revit\DynamoPlayer. When you open that folder you will see .dyn that you can run with the Dynamo Player

  5. #5
    Member tuekappel's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 6, 2012
    Location
    Frederiksberg, Denmark
    Posts
    338
    Current Local Time
    07:32 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I would definitely wait a long while before i started using the Dynamo Player.

    ebow3d, start using vanilla Dynamo, creating your own graphs, applying them to projects. When you have constructed a graph that works well within a specific project, you can save it to a special folder, and use it only in that project.

    I see a danger in the player, because you can easily wreck an entire project running the wrong graph in the wrong project, potentially overwriting some or all important parameters for all objects.

  6. #6
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,665
    Current Local Time
    05:32 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by tuekappel View Post
    I would definitely wait a long while before i started using the Dynamo Player.

    ebow3d, start using vanilla Dynamo, creating your own graphs, applying them to projects. When you have constructed a graph that works well within a specific project, you can save it to a special folder, and use it only in that project.

    I see a danger in the player, because you can easily wreck an entire project running the wrong graph in the wrong project, potentially overwriting some or all important parameters for all objects.
    Good idea. Even running scripts from dynamo i always stc first
    Last edited by elton williams; February 26th, 2017 at 06:29 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Trouble with Formula
    By gioginnelli in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 25th, 2017, 08:56 AM
  2. Railings trouble
    By Nushki in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: April 24th, 2012, 10:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •