Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2174 USD (87%)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: CAD file Imported or Linked?? not loaded in ML but shows up anyway?

  1. #1
    Member wwdreamb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 19, 2016
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    120
    Current Local Time
    07:20 AM

    CAD file Imported or Linked?? not loaded in ML but shows up anyway?

    I am working in a model that has a few CAD files linked or imported into it. When I go to plan or 3D view where I can see them, I am unable to highlight, grab, select or move the CAD files. In manage links they both show up but are unloaded. If I remove the links they disappear from the model. We currently do not have these files in our system.

    What is going on? Is the file linked? If so, why is it showing up while the status is "not found" in Manage Links?

    Are the drawings imported but for some reason show up in Manage Links?

  2. #2
    Member Barth's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 2, 2013
    Posts
    301
    Current Local Time
    07:20 AM
    Lower right corner: "Select Links" : Toggle it.
    Last edited by Barth; October 15th, 2016 at 01:26 AM.

  3. #3
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,642
    Current Local Time
    12:20 AM
    Also cad files can be pinned when brought in. Check 'select pinned' setting

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    June 14, 2011
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    592
    Current Local Time
    10:20 AM
    [QUOTE=wwdreamb;174678]We currently do not have these files in our system. QUOTE]

    Revit does not need the .dwg file to hold on to the geometry. It will even export said geometry.

  5. #5
    Member HansLammerts's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 22, 2011
    Posts
    475
    Current Local Time
    02:20 PM
    Like rob says. linking is really not 'link' .. It's more like 'import with a leech'.. It will always import ..however it you choose 'Import' it doesn't have the leech in the first place. Hope that it makes more sense to you

  6. #6
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,410
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM
    Importing and linking are nowhere near the same thing. Importing is way worse. It brings in a ton of other crap from the cad file, that doesn't (and shouldnt) need to be in revit.

  7. #7
    Member HansLammerts's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 22, 2011
    Posts
    475
    Current Local Time
    02:20 PM
    Yes. All familiar Aaron. We don't need to discuss dwg any further. I think now with the .sat capability in 2017 loose all the crap that Revit imported. However, too bad we loose the leech as well. The workaround for that will be easy, don't you think?

  8. #8
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,410
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM
    I dont agree at all, because SAT isnt going to replace DWG for a lot of people. Folks bring in full drawings in DWG. SAT is typically used when they want to pull in geometry from other platforms (which i dont do, i just model them in Revit).

  9. #9
    Member HansLammerts's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 22, 2011
    Posts
    475
    Current Local Time
    02:20 PM
    That is your view. I've just got a other angle at this. No problem Aaron..

    I think (working civil ALSO with AutoCAD 2d and 3d intensively..) that (sub)models can be exported from AutoCAD better as .sat for better use than dwg in Revit. It's open & clean! And like you said. AutoCAD is a different platform! (hence the logic). When designing bridges and tunnels, .. Steel, ships or whatever... Solids have the the preference. (except for terrains and roads etc) A good 3d designer in AutoCAD keeps 2d and 3d in different files if you ask me.

    However, with .sat you are ganranteed it will NOT bring the garbage in that people experience with dwg (thanks Autodesk !!!!). [EDIT .. THE POINT IS HERE!]

    Time will tell, we will see Aaron. ( getting a little of topic by Aaron.. Sorry for that)
    Last edited by HansLammerts; October 16th, 2016 at 06:46 AM.

  10. #10
    Forum Co-Founder Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,410
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM
    You always assume the moment people mention DWG that its 3DDWG, because thats your workflow.

    So you have a Flat 2D Site Plan, that you export to SAT, and it comes in with all of the civil engineers annotations and symbology from their drawings? Sweet, post one up. Ill link it in and if it truly is better, ill say i was wrong.

Similar Threads

  1. Where is that imported CAD file?
    By SarahF in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: May 30th, 2017, 01:24 AM
  2. linked file to another linked file view and control problems
    By shotgun_banjo in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 4th, 2016, 12:47 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 9th, 2015, 01:15 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 9th, 2014, 12:15 AM
  5. Linked model shows regardless of workset
    By edmund in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 7th, 2013, 10:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •