Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Edge based family + schedule possible???

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    April 30, 2016
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    07:32 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Edge based family + schedule possible???

    Hi All, my first post I hope of many ...... I am currently struggling to create what I had thought would be a very simple schedule but I cant seem to come up with a solution and I am starting to wonder if there is one at all, even a "work around" type solution would be great I dont mind if I have to use model lines, or family, or in place or whatever ANYTHING will do, I cant come up with a thing.

    Put very simply - imagine a load of different cubes formed as "mass" in Revit (any flavour) - I want to be able to schedule the total length of the vertical edges, total length of edges on the top face, the total length of the edges on the bottom face on each cube...... is there ANY way I can do that easily??? Hopefully with an element that is placed be simply picking the edge, but if I had to select the face each time even that would be ok.....

    I cant come up with a solution?? Any suggestions?

    This is for heat loss calcs in a building (UK SAP ratings) - and I need to know the lengths of hundreds, possibly thousands, of edges in the rooms and to able to separate them into distinct groups. I dont need Revit to do this in any clever way for me and I would actually prefer to manually select the edges and group them etc...... Attached image gives an idea of what I need......
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails SIMPLE.jpg  

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    April 30, 2016
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    07:32 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Answered My own question!! Line based family, placed on face, with a shared paramater reporting length.... I cant seem to get the subcategory / linetype yet to be adjustable... but If need to make a separate family for every edge type I can do that.....

  3. #3
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,670
    Current Local Time
    11:32 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Sounds like a lot of work. If these are/can be Room or Spaces I'd go through Dynamo to extract the edges.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Creating a floor based and wall based generic model in a single family
    By PraveenPonnuru in forum Tutorials, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 10th, 2015, 05:16 PM
  2. Trouble Converting Ceiling Based Family into Face Based
    By Yorgan in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 28th, 2015, 01:40 PM
  3. Convert a Family from Wall Based to Face Based.......
    By doni49 in forum Tutorials, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 23rd, 2013, 09:02 AM
  4. Line Based Family nested inside another line based family and arrayed
    By MadMatt in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 6th, 2013, 06:29 PM
  5. Array a line based family inside another line based family
    By MadMatt in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 11th, 2012, 02:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •