Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: 3d hanger family - i need a 2d annotation symbol added and functionable

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    December 1, 2015
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    02:08 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Question 3d hanger family - i need a 2d annotation symbol added and functionable

    To All,
    I work for a Mechanical Contractor and we are in the design part of our new project. We normally use SYSQUE to insert our hangers, however, to adjust them constantly there are to many other steps for taking measurements and copying them to the correct spot. I would prefer that we can just drag to the correct height on the rod. I want to keep the lengths of strut to how we cut them in the field keeping nominal lengths. The other problem with SYSQUE is the way it inserts pipe is backwards from the actual way we would install in the field so when it puts in automatic hangers it places them they way it was written, not as we need it to be.
    It has been assigned to me to figure out how we can take a family from SYSQUE modify it for our purposes and make is successful.

    The real question is:
    How do I insert a 2D symbol into my 3d hanger family?
    I need to be able to dimension to the hanger itself (so if it moves it moves the 2d items moves with it. (we have just been placing a 2D symbol over the hangers now and when the hangers move, the 2D stays - double work)

    I would like to be able to turn off either one depending what I am doing. If I am in a 3D view I dont want to see my 2D symbol, same with my 2D plan Ill only want to turn off the 3D hanger.

    *** If/ you know how to insert the modified hanger back in to SYSQUE. *** - no worries if not.

    Wracking my brain over here - Teal

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    October 13, 2015
    Posts
    12
    Current Local Time
    04:08 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You can open the family and modify the default to whatever your shop standards are IE.. 3/8" rod, distance from side of duct, extra rod length. Do a SaveAs and name it different then go to a hanger spec and add your new hanger. Not sure about 2D symbol we show the hanger and I half tone them except on the hanger plan. You can dimension to the hanger.

  3. #3
    Junior Member SysQueKenny's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 29, 2013
    Posts
    44
    Current Local Time
    02:08 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Teal87 View Post
    To All,
    I work for a Mechanical Contractor and we are in the design part of our new project. We normally use SYSQUE to insert our hangers, however, to adjust them constantly there are to many other steps for taking measurements and copying them to the correct spot. I would prefer that we can just drag to the correct height on the rod. I want to keep the lengths of strut to how we cut them in the field keeping nominal lengths. The other problem with SYSQUE is the way it inserts pipe is backwards from the actual way we would install in the field so when it puts in automatic hangers it places them they way it was written, not as we need it to be.
    It has been assigned to me to figure out how we can take a family from SYSQUE modify it for our purposes and make is successful.

    The real question is:
    How do I insert a 2D symbol into my 3d hanger family?
    I need to be able to dimension to the hanger itself (so if it moves it moves the 2d items moves with it. (we have just been placing a 2D symbol over the hangers now and when the hangers move, the 2D stays - double work)

    I would like to be able to turn off either one depending what I am doing. If I am in a 3D view I dont want to see my 2D symbol, same with my 2D plan Ill only want to turn off the 3D hanger.

    *** If/ you know how to insert the modified hanger back in to SYSQUE. *** - no worries if not.

    Wracking my brain over here - Teal
    Hello Teal,

    If I understand your comments correctly you can drag the hanger rods up or down. You can also place hangers manually instead of the automatic placement (place hanger command). If you could provide more detail, I think we can figure out the requirements you're looking for.

Similar Threads

  1. Annotation symbol with grips.
    By Nurlan in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: February 26th, 2019, 06:47 PM
  2. Annotation Symbol Family
    By simon1688 in forum Structure - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 1st, 2015, 09:10 PM
  3. Annotation symbol scale
    By domsib in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 15th, 2015, 11:37 AM
  4. Face based family annotation symbol
    By domsib in forum MEP - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 28th, 2013, 05:44 PM
  5. Inserting my annotation symbol into the family
    By solarflare in forum MEP - Family Creation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 9th, 2011, 11:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •