Page 1 sur 2 12 DernièreDernière
Affichage des résultats 1 à 10 sur 17

Discussion: Documenting Grouped Units

  1. #1
    Forum Addict Avatar de GMcDowellJr
    Date d'inscription
    décembre 2010
    Localisation
    Phoenix, AZ
    Messages
    2 658
    Heure locale
    16h27

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Documenting Grouped Units

    I've convinced the team to use Groups instead of Links for suites in a condominium project.

    I would like to document the groups out of context, however, for the sales office. I thought to put them in a Secondary Design Option Set (the primary is empty) so I could have them show in the views for the sales office but not for the rest. The problem is that now that's it's a secondary option I'm getting errors when making some (though not all edits). Not good.

    I thought to put them in a pre-existing phase but then I have to keep demoing everything that I add so it doesn't show in the main model. Again, not ideal.

    Any other thoughts on how to manage this? Worksets?

  2. #2
    Forum Co-Founder Avatar de Twiceroadsfool
    Date d'inscription
    décembre 2010
    Localisation
    Dallas, TX
    Messages
    10 508
    Heure locale
    18h27

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I generally dont like the *Out of Context* thing, but ive helped some firms do it recently. There are a bunch of options for how, honestly:

    1. Design options (what sort of errors are you getting?)

    2. The Phase Thing. If you dont like having to demolish the stuff, then make it a Phase AFTER the project. I tend to not like that, since you still have to *avoid* the project model, but it works fine.

    3. If you dont want to do either, you can just line them up a good distance from the project in thesame phase as the project. You can have a parameter that has its instance value Vary By Group, which will allow you to check the box on that parameter value for the "out of context" groups, and then you can configure all other groups.schedules to not show values for anything with that box checked.

    Thats a lot more work than doing the DO thing, but its doable.

  3. #3
    Moderator Avatar de cellophane
    Date d'inscription
    août 2011
    Localisation
    Louisville, KY
    Messages
    6 229
    Heure locale
    19h27

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    For marketing you can also just create separate views and isolate the groups and any adjoining elements that are needed in those views (i.e. hide everything you don't need.) May or may not be best practice but it would be simple enough to do and eliminates all the issues that can occur with phasing or DOs.

    I've done the phase thing in the past and it does work but it can be a pain in the ass if you modify the group in the wrong phase, especially if you then have to go through and un-demo something in your project.

    FWIW - my current project and the last 2 I did I just used scope boxes to do the documentation for the enlarged unit plans and didn't worry too much about it, especially after the headaches I ran into using the phasing method.

  4. #4
    Forum Addict Avatar de GMcDowellJr
    Date d'inscription
    décembre 2010
    Localisation
    Phoenix, AZ
    Messages
    2 658
    Heure locale
    16h27

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Citation Envoyé par Twiceroadsfool Voir le message
    1. Design options (what sort of errors are you getting?)
    Stuff like, "no element in a secondary option can be referenced by an element outside that option."

    I know you don't like the Workset approach but, so far, I think that might be a workable solution.

    They're out of context because the position of the condos can, and will change, in the project.

  5. #5
    Forum Co-Founder Avatar de Twiceroadsfool
    Date d'inscription
    décembre 2010
    Localisation
    Dallas, TX
    Messages
    10 508
    Heure locale
    18h27

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I dont *like* the workset approach because it doesnt work everywhere (schedules, and overrides beyond simply on/off). But if it works for you, thats great!

  6. #6
    Forum Addict Avatar de sdbrownaia
    Date d'inscription
    décembre 2010
    Messages
    1 082
    Heure locale
    19h27

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If you use the Design option right it will not be referencing anything. The problem is design options work best starting from a blank canvas. So I find it best to "copy/paste" what I want into a new design option, vs trying to add things to it. That way to force it to break any link. I don't know though what it does to have the group that I assume will update other instances of the group in a design option.

  7. #7
    Forum Addict Avatar de GMcDowellJr
    Date d'inscription
    décembre 2010
    Localisation
    Phoenix, AZ
    Messages
    2 658
    Heure locale
    16h27

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Citation Envoyé par Twiceroadsfool Voir le message
    it doesnt work everywhere (schedules, and overrides beyond simply on/off).
    It doesn't work in schedules... <sigh>

  8. #8
    Forum Addict Avatar de GMcDowellJr
    Date d'inscription
    décembre 2010
    Localisation
    Phoenix, AZ
    Messages
    2 658
    Heure locale
    16h27

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    We're also bumping into each other a lot using the DO approach. Seems when you work in a DO you check out the entire option. Has anyone else seen this behavior lately? I read some old posts about similar issues. Short of a DO for each unit type any thoughts?

  9. #9
    Forum Co-Founder Avatar de Twiceroadsfool
    Date d'inscription
    décembre 2010
    Localisation
    Dallas, TX
    Messages
    10 508
    Heure locale
    18h27

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    That is true, for how the DO's get checked out with Worksharing. Only thing i can think of is a different Option for each group. Which is.... meh.

  10. #10
    Forum Addict Avatar de GMcDowellJr
    Date d'inscription
    décembre 2010
    Localisation
    Phoenix, AZ
    Messages
    2 658
    Heure locale
    16h27

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Think I'll go one step further and have a different DOS for each unit... each with 2 DO's (hidden, and visible).

    Thanks

Discussions similaires

  1. Different materials on grouped walls
    Par brett05 dans le forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Réponses: 1
    Dernier message: 02/10/2013, 09h15
  2. Documenting a Revit Library
    Par LeanneZ dans le forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Réponses: 9
    Dernier message: 21/12/2012, 18h15
  3. Documenting the Revit Template
    Par kpcarch dans le forum Tutorials, Tips & Tricks
    Réponses: 14
    Dernier message: 16/08/2012, 22h42

Règles de messages

  • Vous ne pouvez pas créer de nouvelles discussions
  • Vous ne pouvez pas envoyer des réponses
  • Vous ne pouvez pas envoyer des pièces jointes
  • Vous ne pouvez pas modifier vos messages
  •