Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2249 USD (90%)

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: lighting fixtures reducing performance?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    December 31, 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    195
    Current Local Time
    11:59 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    lighting fixtures reducing performance?

    Hi peps. I've got an issue that's reducing the speed of my file. I'm doing a landscaping lighting plan using lighting fixtures to give an impression of lighting spreads etc. I'm now getting a problem theat every time I try to edit anything I get a processing message (bottom left hand corner) telling me that its regeneration the 3D views, these view are what I'm using to output schematic lighting plans. Even if these views are not open revit still needs to update them. These lighting plans do not have a many lights in them, or is 20 alot? Is so then thats the problem. Is there a way of stopping revit from updating or regenerating these views in the background?
    thx!

  2. #2
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,652
    Current Local Time
    08:59 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Revit doesn't/shouldn't regenerate a view that's not open. Are you sure the view is closed?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    December 31, 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    195
    Current Local Time
    11:59 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Absolutely certain, the light fixtures are also on their own workset and are switched off in all 3d view while I am positioning lights in plan. I even deleted the views that were being regenerated but revit then switched to another 3d view to regenerate, its like it needs to keep track of the illumination or something. I'll just keeping trying to find solutions for the issue.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    December 31, 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    195
    Current Local Time
    11:59 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    To sort of answered my own question. I've discovered that if I place a bunch on lights into the model and not open any of 3d views my machine will not need to regen any 'background' 3d view. But if I open a 3D view and even if I close that view, revit will still need to update/regen that view, if I delete the offending view it will simply jump to the next one. My guess is that revit need to keep an illuminance map somewhere in the cache, but this slows down performance terribly. Sounds wacky but its a happening.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 14, 2012
    Location
    Where the plains meet the mountains
    Posts
    392
    Current Local Time
    09:59 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    So it sounds like if you close out of the file and re-enter, the performance improves, right? If so, what happens if you make sure all the 3D views are closed and you SWC, relinquishing everything?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    December 31, 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    195
    Current Local Time
    11:59 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Saving out and re-opening & SWC does work....... for a while but then something triggers the regen process again. I'm pretty sure its someone else on the team opening a 3d view and SWC. The short of it - don't have too many light fixtures in the project, if you need them, then put them in a separate file - lighting study. The hardware just can't keep up.
    thx

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    December 31, 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    195
    Current Local Time
    11:59 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The problem was VRAY, I uninstalled and performance returned to normal. 'Beta' be careful.

  8. #8
    Forum Addict sdbrownaia's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 20, 2010
    Posts
    1,079
    Current Local Time
    11:59 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I can concur, VRAY just starts sucking memory. I had to uninstall it too.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 7th, 2016, 07:24 AM
  2. lighting fixtures (ceiling) rendered on pc but fails in cloud rendering
    By mdingemanse in forum Rendering and Gallery
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 26th, 2015, 08:20 AM
  3. Lighting fixtures Category, nesting, hosting
    By anthonyB in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 21st, 2014, 10:20 PM
  4. interior rendering without using lighting fixtures
    By ehsanshp in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: April 29th, 2013, 03:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •