Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Lookup Table: First Column?

  1. #1
    Member doni49's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 26, 2013
    Location
    Jefferson City, MO
    Posts
    440
    Current Local Time
    10:32 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Lookup Table: First Column?

    What's that first column for? I THOUGHT I could put part names there and lookup sizes. I figured out that didn't work (and how to use the other columns to do the search) but I'm at a loss as to the purpose of that column if it's not part of the search.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    August 19, 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    506
    Current Local Time
    11:32 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It's for designating what that row is for in the .csv. Think of it as the first column of a type catalog, except it doesn't report anything. It's only there for notes.

  3. #3
    Member doni49's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 26, 2013
    Location
    Jefferson City, MO
    Posts
    440
    Current Local Time
    10:32 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    So it's just for the person maintaining the csv file?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    September 16, 2015
    Location
    Darwin, Australia
    Posts
    169
    Current Local Time
    02:02 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yep, that's it. I use it for nominal diameters and part numbers. The second column should have your nominal size parameter. If your having trouble with lookup tables here are two quick bits of info that should help. In your lookup table the every column after the first should have a header like this:

    ParameterName##TypeOfParameter##UnitType or ED##Length##Millimeters

    Secondly, when referencing the lookup table in the family formulas it should look like this:

    size_lookup(LookupTableName,"ParameterName",Defaul tValue,LookupValue)

    LookupTableName - The name of your lookup table. Who would have guessed?

    "ParameterName" - The parameter you are trying to reference, naturally. It does not have to be the same name as it is in your family, so if you have a 'Nominal Diameter' parameter in your family you can shorten it to 'ND' or whatever you like in the lookup table.

    Default - If Revit can't find a match in the lookup table it will use this value/formula.

    LookupValue - This determines the row that Revit will use, pretty sure it pulls from the second column, so keep your 'master parameter' like a nominal size in that column.

    And finally, if you think you need a bit more info here is a handy link on the topic, this link will download a Word document:

    http://www.midwest-u.com/wp-content/...up-Tables.docx

Similar Threads

  1. Model, Manufacturer, Lookup Table
    By RubberDinero in forum MEP - Family Creation
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 15th, 2016, 08:34 PM
  2. Lookup table Yes/no not working
    By Arno in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 28th, 2015, 06:21 PM
  3. Lookup Table issue
    By sabari2504 in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 15th, 2014, 08:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •