Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2249 USD (90%)

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Make Junction Box Hosted

  1. #1
    Member CRapai's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 30, 2015
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    271
    Current Local Time
    07:41 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Make Junction Box Hosted

    I made a junction box with conduit connectors for 13 and 17 conduit boxes. These are free floating (don't know the term) and I would like to make another version that can be hosted by walls. This came about because a coworker wanted to have the box on a wall and I suggested rotating it in section view but it says we can't rotate it to this position. I looked into it and it appears it was because I was using reference planes instead of lines. I changed as many of those as possible but I still couldn't rotate the box. Is there a way to replace the origin reference planes with lines?

    I also tried nesting the box into a wall mounted template but I can't rotate the nested box to be in the correct orientation in the family.

  2. #2
    Forum Addict josephpeel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 3, 2012
    Posts
    1,403
    Current Local Time
    01:41 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    In your 'Free floating' (Generic or Level based) family, check the box that says Workplane Based. Then you will have the option to place it on a level or a face when it is created.
    If you want it to keep the same orientation when placed on a wall (Choose place on face and click a wall), check the 'Always Vertical' box. If you want it to rotate 90 degrees to be 'on' the wall then dont.

  3. #3
    Member evan.dodds's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 29, 2014
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    219
    Current Local Time
    05:41 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    So, you want to be able to orientate the box differently on the wall?

    To do that you would need to set up a rotation rig and host your box to that rather than to the origin planes. As you sort of mentioned, reference planes cannot be rotated which is why you use reference lines.

    This post is the most standard way to get rotatability into your families, while these two posts : post 1, post 2, are more "advanced" ways of achieving rotatability. Ignore the first method in the two posts (post 1, post 2), and see the second and third ones.


    Hope this helps!

Similar Threads

  1. Creating a tag to identify the junction between floor finishes
    By Jozi in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 15th, 2014, 04:32 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 20th, 2014, 01:15 AM
  3. Revit OpEd: Hosted or Not Hosted
    By Revit OpEd in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 30th, 2013, 03:15 PM
  4. Floor to wall junction. Tidying the detail
    By cve60069 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 23rd, 2013, 09:01 PM
  5. Pipe Fitting Junction Family
    By Roberto in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 24th, 2012, 01:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •