Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Floor thickness issue

  1. #1
    Member byk3bep's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 30, 2014
    Posts
    450
    Current Local Time
    10:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Floor thickness issue

    I created the roof of the building using the floor command.

    The problem is that the specified thickness of the floor (20cm) differs then the one that is shown in section. I'm guessing that it has to do with the slope angle, and that the floor thickness is in the global z direction.

    Is there a way to correct this, or am I going about this the wrong way. What is the right way?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ss2.jpg 
Views:	69 
Size:	473.8 KB 
ID:	21453

    Thx for the help, it's much appreciated

  2. #2
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,229
    Current Local Time
    04:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    How did you get your slope? Did you use a slope on your floor or did you use modify sub-elements? If you just apply a slope the thickness will stay constant across the object, if you use modify sub-elements it will distort.

    Why did you use a floor instead of a roof or multiple roofs?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails FloorThickness.PNG  

  3. #3
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,171
    Current Local Time
    04:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    That is a known consequence of editing points on a roof or slab. Revit usually issues a warning about it:

    "Thickness of this Roof may be slightly inaccurate due to extreme Shape Editing. Dimensions to this element in sections and details may not accurately indicate the Thickness shown in Type Properties."

    Maybe that roof could be done in other simpler ways, since it is not complex geometry.

  4. #4
    Member byk3bep's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 30, 2014
    Posts
    450
    Current Local Time
    10:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yep, it's a floor with modified sub elements

    What aproach would you take in this case?

  5. #5
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,171
    Current Local Time
    04:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I would create a roof type and a wall type with the same materials and thicknesses. A mass with the shape of the slanted walls. Then, walls by face, then a simple roof by footprint for the top. Now you can have proper thickness of materials for the sections.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2015-04-06_13-36-33.jpg  

  6. #6
    Member byk3bep's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 30, 2014
    Posts
    450
    Current Local Time
    10:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thx for your help guys

    Cheers

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    June 7, 2018
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    01:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    How would you go about keeping the thickness consistent if roof has a complex geometry (see attached image)? any work around that would keep the roof points and lines editable and would give the roof a consistent thickness? In this case, the roof is modeled with footprint, modified by sub elements, cut with vertical opening and points at split lines intersection define the elevations.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Roof thickness.PNG  

  8. #8
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,658
    Current Local Time
    01:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Model each facet individually and slope each as appropriate with a slope arrow. Clean up with voids, etc. No easy button if you need to maintain thickness.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    June 7, 2018
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    01:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks for your response. I understand. This is what I was afraid of. In this case since the roof is quite large and elevations need to be more accessible and adjustable, this wouldn't be as efficient.

  10. #10
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,171
    Current Local Time
    04:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Maybe this needs to be modeled A) in a generic model adaptive template, using points, reference lines, individual surfaces and two reference planes as hosts for the points. Once this is loaded into a project, B) you create roof(s) by face. These roofs will have a constant thickness. To edit the roof, you edit the location of the points in the family, or the elevation of the hosts reference planes, or create void forms in the family, reload, and update the roof by face.



    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2019-01-14_13-43-44.jpg   2019-01-14_13-43-13.jpg  

Similar Threads

  1. Floor tag: thickness ....finally
    By jbenoit44 in forum Tutorials, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 8th, 2017, 05:12 AM
  2. Floor surface pattern thickness overrides by object style when demolished
    By ikinks in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 16th, 2015, 07:25 AM
  3. Curtain Wall Thickness Issue
    By gurpsb in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 17th, 2014, 02:10 AM
  4. Structural floor issue
    By Andres Franco in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: April 19th, 2013, 10:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •