Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Anyone else make diagrams using Revit?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    October 14, 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    222
    Current Local Time
    01:34 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Anyone else make diagrams using Revit?

    I've seen a few websites showcasing assembly and construction diagrams done in revit, but I mean few. In my office we've always used rhino for this, and just started breaking into revit so I've been experimenting a bit to see if we could make a decent graphic without having to use two 3D modeling programs.

    so far it has been working out ok, the exploded parts tool is cool as hell. I'm using adobe programs to layer and to make things look right (but the second example is 100% done only using Revit). I'm wondering what other workflows are out there. I'd love to see some similar work


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	121014.jpg 
Views:	153 
Size:	877.3 KB 
ID:	20149

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1210 assembly.jpg 
Views:	143 
Size:	840.4 KB 
ID:	20151
    Last edited by billiam; December 10th, 2014 at 07:42 PM.

  2. #2
    Member renogreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 27, 2011
    Location
    Reno, Nv. USA
    Posts
    335
    Current Local Time
    11:34 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Nicely done.

  3. #3
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,233
    Current Local Time
    02:34 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Andy Milburn uses Revit for all kinds of things! He refers to it as "His BIM Pencil" He has one of my favorite Revit blogs: Shades of Grey

  4. #4
    Member rbcameron1's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 15, 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    191
    Current Local Time
    01:34 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yes and no. Not to that level of development, but we have use it for coordination of precast wall panels and order of assembly on our drawings.
    Its not a "we can't do it" thing, its a "we're stepping over our legal bounds" thing with means and methods and our contract with the owner.
    Design/Build that works to get that detailed, Design/Bid/Build not so much. This has definitely given me something to think about though.

    Either way, Billiam, those look nice! Good work!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    June 13, 2014
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    238
    Current Local Time
    01:34 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Billiam How do you create those exploded axons

  6. #6
    Member TheRevitKid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 22, 2012
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    185
    Current Local Time
    02:34 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I use it all the time for conceptual diagramming!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Schematic Design - 3D View - Aerial - Pre Fab Entry Diagram.jpg   Site Daigram 1.jpg   Site Daigram 2.jpg   Site Daigram 3.jpg   Site Daigram 4.jpg  

    Site Aerial - Shaded.jpg  

  7. #7
    Forum Addict josephpeel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 3, 2012
    Posts
    1,402
    Current Local Time
    08:34 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Death Star plus launch ramp? Surely its easier to build it in orbit..

  8. #8
    Member TheRevitKid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 22, 2012
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    185
    Current Local Time
    02:34 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The displaced option is also very nifty.... Here is a series for a presentation illustrating SIP construction on a project.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Exports - 3D View - 3D Explode (Before).jpg   Exports - 3D View - 3D Explode A.jpg   Exports - 3D View - 3D Explode B.jpg   Exports - 3D View - 3D Explode C.jpg  

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    June 13, 2014
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    238
    Current Local Time
    01:34 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It is great that you are all showing this but how do you create these exploded axons.

    Revit Kid do you have mass families that you use for the arrows in your first post.

  10. #10
    Member TheRevitKid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 22, 2012
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    185
    Current Local Time
    02:34 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by dtp81390 View Post
    It is great that you are all showing this but how do you create these exploded axons.

    Revit Kid do you have mass families that you use for the arrows in your first post.
    The exploded axons are called "displacement views" in Revit 2014 and 2015 (don't remember if they were 2013... I want to say no) ... Help

    The arrows in my first image are simple extrusions/families I have made.

Similar Threads

  1. How to Make Furniture in Revit?
    By green in forum Tutorials, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 1st, 2013, 06:12 PM
  2. Volume Diagrams
    By stl4310 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 17th, 2012, 02:17 PM
  3. How to make new descipline to make under it levels ?
    By ahmed_hassan in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 13th, 2012, 08:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •