Resultados 1 a 4 de 4

Tópico: Linked CAD file in a linked Revit file

  1. #1
    Member
    Data de Ingresso
    May 5, 2014
    Localização
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    137
    Hora local atual
    10:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Linked CAD file in a linked Revit file

    Hi,

    I'm in a process of writing a Revit manual for my office and I'd like to know your opinion on the best practices of CAD file linking.
    I know that some people are using a linked Revit file as a container for all CAD links.
    It does sounds like a great idea, but I'm not sure how would this work for sections or elevations.

    I'd really appreciate your feedback.

    Kind Regards,

    Maciej

  2. #2
    Member Avatar de renogreen
    Data de Ingresso
    April 27, 2011
    Localização
    Reno, Nv. USA
    Posts
    335
    Hora local atual
    04:38 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    We discourage linking AutoCAD files. If it unavoidable we will do it but if it is more than one or two files then something is wrong with our approach to the project. I can't think of any reason why we would want to link AutoCAD files into elevations and sections. It's not the right way to do things, IMO.

    Probably not the opinion you're looking for and others may disagree but our approach is to do Revit projects with Revit links and leave AutoCAD in the box, if we can.

  3. #3
    Member
    Data de Ingresso
    May 5, 2014
    Localização
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    137
    Hora local atual
    10:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi,

    I agree. This will be ideal world scenario.
    But so far, if you work on an exiting building and you need to model elevations, you'll need to link a CAD survey (at least for the modelling stage)
    Or if you have a consultant using only AutoCAD and you want to check his design against the model, I don't see any other way.

    I know, I know you can use point clouds for surveys (I've used them so far on a few large projects only - it's a bit expensive for some clients), or have a Revit survey model (almost never happens and the quality is usually er...hmm..*^%$##.... ) and use different consultants - but unfortunately it's not always your choice.

    So it seems that CAD links unfortunately will be there for a while, and I would like to make sure that they won't mess our projects.



    At the moment I've got so far:

    1. NEVER import CAD files into a project.
    2. Link CAD files only if necessary, for reference only.
    3. Remove links as soon as the information is modeled/checked/approved
    4. Link the CAD file to a specific workset. Refer to manual for workset naming.
    5. Use shared coordinates if possible - if in doubt ask model manager
    6 To prepare the CAD file:

    Use OVERKILL command in AutoCAD to remove duplicate linework
    Bind xref's, explode and purge the drawing
    Delete unnecessary lines, purge and audit the drawing
    Set all properties to "By Layer"

    Thanks,

    Maciej

    (Sorry for my rant. I need more coffee)

  4. #4
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Avatar de Dave Jones
    Data de Ingresso
    December 7, 2010
    Localização
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4.534
    Hora local atual
    04:38 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Citação Postado originalmente por maciejwypych Ver Post
    At the moment I've got so far:

    1. NEVER import CAD files into a project.
    2. Link CAD files only if necessary, for reference only.
    3. Remove links as soon as the information is modeled/checked/approved
    4. Link the CAD file to a specific workset. Refer to manual for workset naming.
    5. Use shared coordinates if possible - if in doubt ask model manager
    6 To prepare the CAD file:

    Use OVERKILL command in AutoCAD to remove duplicate linework
    Bind xref's, explode and purge the drawing
    Delete unnecessary lines, purge and audit the drawing
    Set all properties to "By Layer"

    Thanks,

    Maciej

    (Sorry for my rant. I need more coffee)
    coffee? It's time here I'm a subcontractor so on any project that the Architect has not produced a Revit model I'm reduced to using Acad links as backgrounds. Regarding
    #1: I agree 100%
    #2: I agree 100%
    #3: I can't remove the links in my projects, they are my building backgrounds. So far, no problems.
    #4: I agree 100%
    #5: I agree 100% as the model manager
    #6: I agree with all of your process, the only thing that I would add is I convert all content in the CAD file to layer 0 unless I have to manipulate visibility in my Revit model for some reason.

    Someday everyone will be using Revit (or whatever is next) but unfortunately it won't happen in my business lifetime. So, I figure out how to deal with the AutoCAD stragglers...

    btw, as a matter of kudos, I learned most all of the above process from posts by Aaron Maller over the years here. Stuff that I would have never thought about, he thinks about.

Tópicos Similares

  1. Linked CAD in a linked Revit file
    Por aykhan9 no fórum MEP - General
    Respostas: 4
    Último Post: June 22nd, 2014, 09:57 PM
  2. Cropping a linked revit file
    Por mseese no fórum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Respostas: 1
    Último Post: January 13th, 2014, 06:00 PM
  3. Architects file linked into Interiors File
    Por Patrick no fórum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Respostas: 1
    Último Post: July 2nd, 2012, 09:25 PM
  4. Insert a Linked Revit File
    Por dzatto no fórum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Respostas: 10
    Último Post: May 1st, 2011, 07:08 PM
  5. Insert linked revit file
    Por redmonki no fórum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Respostas: 2
    Último Post: January 7th, 2011, 02:30 PM

Tags para este Tópico

Permissões de Postagem

  • Você não pode iniciar novos tópicos
  • Você não pode enviar respostas
  • Você não pode enviar anexos
  • Você não pode editar suas mensagens
  •