Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Critical Path in Pressure drop Calculation

  1. #1
    Member RAJESH87's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 19, 2014
    Location
    CHENNAI, INDIA
    Posts
    95
    Current Local Time
    04:50 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Critical Path in Pressure drop Calculation

    Good Day All !!!

    I want to show or display the critical path which displays in the report, also only critical path sectons need to be displayed in the report.
    can anyone come across previously.

    Thank You!!!

  2. #2
    Forum Addict josephpeel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 3, 2012
    Posts
    1,402
    Current Local Time
    01:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ive been thinking about how you would do this too..
    It would be good if there was a parameter "Is critical path" in all pipes and ducts and this was automatically set when you do the report. Then you could filter schedules and show different colours in views.
    I think you would have to add this parameter and select the critical path yourself to show/filter it.

  3. #3
    Member RAJESH87's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 19, 2014
    Location
    CHENNAI, INDIA
    Posts
    95
    Current Local Time
    04:50 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Joseph, can u support on this.
    first is it possible?

  4. #4
    Forum Addict josephpeel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 3, 2012
    Posts
    1,402
    Current Local Time
    01:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I suggest you try the following;

    Make a project parameter "Is critical path", (Yes/No, Mechanical, add to Pipes and Pipe Fittings). Set to Off as default.
    Use TAB to select everything between start of pipe system and the furthest point in the system.
    Set "Is critical path" On for selected pipes and fittings.
    Schedule all the critical path pipes and fittings, with pressure drop.
    Compare critical path pressure drop total in the schedule with what you get in the report.

    You could also make a 3D view to show the critical path pipes.

    I have never tried doing this before so I dont know if this will work or be useful :P
    Try it and let us know....

  5. #5
    Member RAJESH87's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 19, 2014
    Location
    CHENNAI, INDIA
    Posts
    95
    Current Local Time
    04:50 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    In this case, if Critical path is changed due to some changes.
    but again it needs to be over looked manually right?
    as you mentioned, "Schedule all the critical path pipes and fittings, with pressure drop.Compare critical path pressure drop total in the schedule with what you get in the report". so for this i have to open 3 schedules(pipe, Pipe fittings & Pipe accessories(same for duct also).
    bit tedious process also error is possible.

    Also pressure drop for Duct Fitting is not coming in the schedule.
    Last edited by RAJESH87; August 4th, 2014 at 10:58 AM.

  6. #6
    Forum Addict josephpeel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 3, 2012
    Posts
    1,402
    Current Local Time
    01:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hmm, maybe not so useful then. I guess we should wait for autodesk to improve this.
    Thanks for testing the idea and reporting back

  7. #7
    Member RAJESH87's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 19, 2014
    Location
    CHENNAI, INDIA
    Posts
    95
    Current Local Time
    04:50 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Welcome.
    If u got any inputs or solution on this please repost in this.

Similar Threads

  1. Pressure Loss through Tap always zero
    By alnjxn in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 16th, 2018, 01:33 PM
  2. General issue with pressure loss
    By Dogma in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 11th, 2014, 04:26 AM
  3. Creating an accurate Pressure Loss Report
    By DMapes in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 25th, 2013, 02:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •