Thread: Pipe/Duct Connectors cant be hidden but what about this...

Current Local Time
    09:27 PM

Not allowed! Not allowed!

Question Pipe/Duct Connectors cant be hidden but what about this...

Hi there, first post so hi there!

I am a novice at Revit but building up my knowledge base.

I work for a ventilation company and am starting to build up a catalogue of our AHUs.
    I realise that pipe connectors are not hide-able and I've heard about the array method but all that does is throw the pipe connector off into a random space next to the family rather than remove it so I am looking for the next best thing.

I have an AHU with different options 1. With pipes 2. Without.

I don't really want to have a different file for each variant so what I am thinking of doing is having a yes/no constraint linked to the position of the the pipe connector, then when i dont want the pipes, untick the box and have it move the connector inside the body of the model and label it 'disabled'.

What I would like to know is although I realise it will still be visible when the model is selected but are pipe connectors something that can be counted/scheduled in a project? if they are then this method is not going to work. Or is it just the family itself as a whole that can be scheduled?

Mr. Revit OpEd
    Current Local Time
    01:27 PM

A family that has unused connectors remains listed (as well as visible) as an unassigned system in the System Browser. That suggests to users that there is something unfinished. It also stores an unresolved issue within the database, part of the unassigned branch of the System Browser. Autodesk recommends that all connectors belong to systems to reduce the number of unassigned connectors. For a comparison, I imagine a day care center with 100 kids and 1 adult or the same center with 100 kids and 25 adults. For Revit and our sense of it's performance it's much more manageable with more adults (systems defined) per child (connectors).