Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2249 USD (90%)

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Type's parameter cannot recursively point to the type itself?

  1. #1
    Junior Member jeeenyuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 17, 2014
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    30
    Current Local Time
    12:36 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Type's parameter cannot recursively point to the type itself?

    I have created a family. It is quite a complex family as far as the ones that I have created. It seems fine while I'm building it. I load it into my project. I duplicate a wall, name it, go to change the Curtain Panel Value, and when I do, it says "Type's parameter cannot recursively point to the type itself" I have no idea what that means. I guess there is a problem with the family that I have created but I have no idea what it could be. What should I do?


  2. #2
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,205
    Current Local Time
    01:36 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Can you post the family and/or a project with only the elements in question?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    March 6, 2015
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    05:36 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image 1.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	329.9 KB 
ID:	21348I have the same problem but with the curtain wall. I Have the same name in the Type of curtain wall and whant chouse the panel with the same name. And Revit whrite the same problem what was desribed abowe.

  4. #4
    Forum Addict jmk's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 31, 2012
    Location
    NM, USA
    Posts
    1,474
    Current Local Time
    11:36 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Russik View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image 1.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	329.9 KB 
ID:	21348I have the same problem but with the curtain wall. I Have the same name in the Type of curtain wall and whant chouse the panel with the same name. And Revit whrite the same problem what was desribed abowe.
    It looks to me like your problem is you are choosing the same wall you are editing as the default panel (wall types can be used as a panel in curtain walls). Revit gets into a loop trying to process that, because you are telling it that the default panel type for the wall is the wall you are in the process of editing. The solution would be to choose any other wall or panel type. Perhaps you were trying to choose the same panel type as was used in the plaster stucco white wall? If not you can duplicate that wall and set the duplicate as a default, or probably can unlock the default panel and manually replace the curtain panel with the same wall type.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    March 6, 2015
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    05:36 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Everything is clear, thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 26th, 2013, 07:45 AM
  2. Including instance parameter in type parameter formula
    By sabari2504 in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 12th, 2013, 02:54 PM
  3. Revit OpEd: Family Type as Type Catalog Flag
    By Revit OpEd in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 11th, 2013, 03:15 PM
  4. select by parameter? curtain wall panels' materials by parameter, by type or family?
    By oompa_l in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 24th, 2013, 02:20 PM
  5. NOOB question: delete callout type and section type?
    By lost again again in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 31st, 2012, 01:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •