Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2249 USD (90%)

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Slab Edges!!!!

  1. #1
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,567
    Current Local Time
    04:36 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Angry Slab Edges!!!!

    Why the hell are slab edges so damn different!!! If you have more then 1 slap edge type it becomes a nightmare to manage them. Does Autodesk think that the slap will only have one type on the edge, or that the type needs not change in any way along an edge?

    Why does this tool work differently then all the other tools? Come on!!!!!

    Does anybody know how to make a parametric slab edge? I am about to give up on them and make my own families that atcualy work!!

    I feel better now. not really... time to go back to adding my 4,000 slab edges.

  2. #2
    Senior Member rkitect's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 21, 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    773
    Current Local Time
    06:36 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I typically make a parametric slab edge profile and then add types through the project browser to that profile. Then all you need to do is duplicate and create new Slab Edge types using the various slab edge profiles (Nested System Families, hoozah!). Do this 4,000 times and you're done!

  3. #3
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,567
    Current Local Time
    04:36 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks Carl,

    I do have a "parametric" slab edge profile... It cant really be called truly parametric though. Its not the families fault its the System Families fault. Oh well. I am not joking about the 4,000 edges. Sigh

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Posts
    877
    Current Local Time
    09:36 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Make yourself a profile using a beam family. Essentially exactly what the other person was suggesting there, ends up being a parametric slab edge.

Similar Threads

  1. Show slab edges in Plan View
    By mdradvies in forum Tutorials, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 21st, 2012, 12:57 PM
  2. Modeling Slab Edges
    By LeanneZ in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: September 17th, 2011, 05:28 AM
  3. CAD Import - smooth segment edges
    By tvatvn in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 17th, 2011, 10:08 PM
  4. Waffle Slab
    By iitdesigner in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 18th, 2011, 02:13 PM
  5. Foundation Plans and Slab Edges
    By dzatto in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: February 28th, 2011, 08:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •