Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Multiple Subcategories of the Same Name - What Would Cause This?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    June 7, 2012
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    04:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Multiple Subcategories of the Same Name - What Would Cause This?

    We created a few subcategories in multiple families and then loaded those families into a Revit project. We ended up with multiple subcategories of the same name. Aren't they supposed to match up and create just a single subcategory if the name matches?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	28 
Size:	32.4 KB 
ID:	14607

  2. #2
    Member irneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 25, 2013
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    356
    Current Local Time
    01:24 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I don't know about subcategories, but family parameters tend to do this quite often. That's the main reason behind shared parameters - to ensure a custom parameter is EXACTLY the same between various families and projects, such that slight differences do not cause these duplicates.

    As for sub categories, I'd have thought the name is the only key for equality checks. Are you sure those names are the exact same length and characters? Note you do get unicode chars which are slightly different (though may look the same). E.g. U+00A0 is the normal (Non-breaking Space), but U+2003 (Em Space - looks the same) though Revit sees it as a different character. For this reason (and due to parameters in formulas) I prefer not to use spaces and strange chars in names. It gets too easy to have non-apparent differences.

  3. #3
    The Moderator with No Imagination MPwuzhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Coeur d Alene, ID
    Posts
    4,850
    Current Local Time
    04:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Linked model perhaps?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    June 7, 2012
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    04:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Well, that's a possibility, but the same thing occurred with our subcategory "Worksurface" which doesn't contain any spaces.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    June 7, 2012
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    04:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    No, definitely not a linked model. Just families loaded into the project.

  6. #6
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,005
    Current Local Time
    04:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    What happens when you place them in a new project file? Have you narrowed it down to a few specific families or is it the whole library category of your custom stuff? Are there nested families in them (shared/not-shared)?

  7. #7
    The Moderator with No Imagination MPwuzhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Coeur d Alene, ID
    Posts
    4,850
    Current Local Time
    04:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by ssimon82 View Post
    No, definitely not a linked model. Just families loaded into the project.
    Sorry, thought I deleted my post....realized it couldn't be a linked model later...

    Unless they are shared vs a family parameter....not a clue

    (Saw a tweet about a shared parameter and family parameter being identical....and a caption of "Your Welcome"...)

Similar Threads

  1. Subcategories not exporting to DWG as assigned
    By maxpower in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 4th, 2013, 05:04 PM
  2. How do Lines Subcategories carry over when nested?
    By tzframpton in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 28th, 2012, 03:27 PM
  3. Subcategories. How do you handle them?
    By kirklyncox in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: August 18th, 2011, 10:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •