Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2249 USD (90%)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: stretch end of wall specific dimension

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Posts
    120
    Current Local Time
    05:50 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    stretch end of wall specific dimension

    Is there a way to click on a wall's endpoint and tell it to move a specific distance, without moving the entire wall?
    If you click on an endpoint, and drag the dot, there doesn't seem to be a way to specify a distance to stretch the length of the wall. If you click move, and then tab to the end of the wall, I've had the entire wall move, and I've had the end of the wall stretch as desired. If the wall is joined at the opposite end then it does allow you to stretch the end of the wall. Temporary dimensions don't seem to work either as it tends to move the entire wall.
    Maybe I'm way off, but it'd be great to click on the blue endpoint dot and tell it how far to move, not how long to make the entire wall.

  2. #2
    Member rosskirby's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    139
    Current Local Time
    06:50 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Draw a reference plane where you want the end of the wall to be, then either drag the wall by the grip until it snaps to the reference plane, or use the Extend tool to extend the wall to the plane, then delete the plane.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Posts
    120
    Current Local Time
    05:50 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by rosskirby View Post
    Draw a reference plane where you want the end of the wall to be, then either drag the wall by the grip until it snaps to the reference plane, or use the Extend tool to extend the wall to the plane, then delete the plane.
    I was hoping there is a more efficient way...one that doesn't require the additional creation of ref. planes, or dimensions that then also need to be deleted. I was hoping that since we can drag and stretch the end points of walls, then maybe we could tell Revit how far to stretch it from its previous endpoint position.

  4. #4
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    661
    Current Local Time
    04:50 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by t1shep View Post
    Is there a way to click on a wall's endpoint and tell it to move a specific distance, without moving the entire wall?
    If you click on an endpoint, and drag the dot, there doesn't seem to be a way to specify a distance to stretch the length of the wall. If you click move, and then tab to the end of the wall, I've had the entire wall move, and I've had the end of the wall stretch as desired. If the wall is joined at the opposite end then it does allow you to stretch the end of the wall. Temporary dimensions don't seem to work either as it tends to move the entire wall.
    Maybe I'm way off, but it'd be great to click on the blue endpoint dot and tell it how far to move, not how long to make the entire wall.
    Hover over the end of the wall, and TAB until just the end highlights. Then use the MOVE tool, and only the end will move, and you can type in a specified distance.

  5. #5
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,153
    Current Local Time
    08:50 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott D Davis View Post
    Hover over the end of the wall, and TAB until just the end highlights. Then use the MOVE tool, and only the end will move, and you can type in a specified distance.
    Hey, that is excellent. You have an answer for everything. I had never seen that little trick. POTM for you!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Posts
    120
    Current Local Time
    05:50 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott D Davis View Post
    Hover over the end of the wall, and TAB until just the end highlights. Then use the MOVE tool, and only the end will move, and you can type in a specified distance.
    Thanks Scott. I was asked this the other day by one of the guys in the office just getting into his first project. And like I said, I swear that we tried doing that, but it was only working if the wall was attached to another wall at the opposite end. But then I tried it on my computer this morning and it seemed to work as you say. I just wanted to make sure that I wasn't making things up.

  7. #7
    Senior Member rkitect's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 21, 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    773
    Current Local Time
    07:50 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just fyi, you don't even have to use the move command. Once you select the end line and you should get temporary dimensions. Adjust the temp dim witness lines to measure from where you want the distance and type in the distance. Hit enter, save and go home for the day. You just finished everything that the intern would spend all day doing.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,234
    Current Local Time
    07:50 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Geeze, where were you guys last night when I was adjusting walls?!

    This is one of my favorite tips. I'll use it constantly.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    "Mark Twain"
    mdradvies's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Boxtel, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,551
    Current Local Time
    12:50 AM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Here's another one:

    Select the blue dot at the end and start typing the distance you need it to be.
    If you want to lengthen by a specific distance:

    = previous length (in numbers, retype the temp dimension) + extra length (off course also in numbers)

  10. #10
    Senior Member rkitect's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 21, 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    773
    Current Local Time
    07:50 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by mdradvies View Post
    = previous length (in numbers, retype the temp dimension) + extra length (off course also in numbers)
    you can even do trig in this slot!!!

Similar Threads

  1. insert specific tag in family
    By ikinks in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 5th, 2011, 05:33 AM
  2. Beam Wall End Cutback
    By djnelson75 in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 19th, 2011, 11:14 PM
  3. Is there a stretch command??
    By Sporty in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 10th, 2011, 06:28 PM
  4. High End Cabinet Families
    By Wadeshuey in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: February 3rd, 2011, 12:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •