Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: "Gross" as opposed to "Net" Area Take-Off for Walls

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    September 26, 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    132
    Current Local Time
    12:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Question "Gross" as opposed to "Net" Area Take-Off for Walls

    Our estimators would like the flexibility of having both Gross and Net area values for Wall Finish Take-Off. We're getting the Net area easy enough, but we haven't figured out a way to post the Gross area. Does anyone know how we might go about extracting this information dynamically? Is it possible to query a hosted object's properties from the parameters available at the parent object level?

    Further Clarification:
    Gross Value - The total value of Raw Material (Not subtracting the openings for Doors, Windows,etc)
    Example: A 10'x10' Wall with a Door and a Window in it, will still post 100SF of Material (Door and Window ignored during calculation)
    Net Value - The total value of Actual/Cut Material (Subtracts the openings for the Doors, Windows, etc)


    Thanks - Dave
    Last edited by SuperDave; July 20th, 2013 at 02:07 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,232
    Current Local Time
    12:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperDave View Post
    Further Clarification:
    Gross Value - The total value of Material withOUT any openings removed
    Example: A 10'x10' Wall with a Door and a Window in it, will still post 100SF of Material (Door and Window Removed from calculation)
    Net Value - The total value of Material with openings removed.
    shouldn't net be with openings removed & gross without (see above)?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    September 26, 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    132
    Current Local Time
    12:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks Cell, I reworded the original post.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,236
    Current Local Time
    11:22 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Couldn't you add a parameter (call it gross area) that multiplies the walls length and width?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    September 26, 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    132
    Current Local Time
    12:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I've considered this approach, but I'm not sure it accounts for Extension distances and edited profiles. I could do something like this: 'Length' * ('Unconnected Height' + 'Top Extension Distance' + 'Base Extension Distance') but when an Extension value is Negative, the formula subtracts it, where in reality it may be adding height to the wall. This becomes a a bigger else/if statement and then we still haven't addressed profile edits.
    Last edited by SuperDave; July 19th, 2013 at 04:28 PM.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,236
    Current Local Time
    11:22 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Well that sure complicates things.

    I could have sworn there was a thread on here about an add in or something that had to deal with wall areas and openings. I'll try to find it.

  7. #7
    Member feio's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Decadent Lisbon
    Posts
    450
    Current Local Time
    05:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The SDK comes with an example that does exactly that, in a project named "MaterialQuantities".
    It uses a temporary transaction to remove all inserts in the host (get them with the FindInserts method).
    The logic is pretty simple (and awkward):
    1. create a transaction and start it
    2. get all inserts in the wall
    3. delete them
    4. get the material quantities without the inserts
    5. rollback the transaction

    The FindInserts is for HostObject, so Walls are included

  8. #8
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,232
    Current Local Time
    12:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    BoostYourBim saw this and has an API solution if you still need something:

    Net and Gross Wall Area | Boost Your BIM - making Revit even better

Similar Threads

  1. What's so "special" about "Specialty Equipment" ?
    By snowyweston in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: May 18th, 2013, 03:38 PM
  2. Show Room "Interior Fill" on an Area Plan
    By darryl in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 29th, 2012, 01:25 PM
  3. "Target" Room Area in Schedule?
    By cliff collins in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: November 17th, 2011, 08:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •