Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to Import Line Weights from AutoCAD when Linking drawings into Revit

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 17, 2013
    Posts
    15
    Current Local Time
    08:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    How to Import Line Weights from AutoCAD when Linking drawings into Revit

    Hi everyone,

    I'm a Revit newb, and I'm certain I will be here quite a bit to ask more questions.

    My big question for the time being is, How do I Import Line Weights from AutoCAD when Linking drawings into Revit? I use a .ctb CAD Standard in AutoCAD, and I have seen what I am asking done in a demonstration, but cannot find any tutorials on it. Any suggestions, because I would like my drawings to look correct when they are printed?

    Thanks,

    JM

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 17, 2013
    Posts
    15
    Current Local Time
    08:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I could not find how to import the Line weights from AutoCAD to Revit, but I have found how to modify them once imported or linked.

    15 04. Autodesk Revit Drafting Views.mov - YouTube

    Great Video for doing this.

  3. #3
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,101
    Current Local Time
    06:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Since I was a wise-acre in the other post, I'll try to be helpful in this one
    This is one of those things where it almost seems like they're trying to hide it.
    Go to the Insert Tab, then on the Import Panel click on that little tiny arrow in the lower right corner
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImportLineWeights.PNG 
Views:	205 
Size:	51.5 KB 
ID:	12535
    If you have an Excel spreadsheet or some other text file that lays out your Colors and Pen weights from AutoCAD, you can also bring in all of them at once from the Load function

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 17, 2013
    Posts
    15
    Current Local Time
    08:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thank you! That did the trick!

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    November 19, 2014
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    12:55 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You need to go to VG,Visibility Graphics dialog has a tab for Imported Categories. Each DWG file is listed here, and you can turn layers on and off or change lineweight, color as needed: Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DWG-files-3-sm.png 
Views:	47 
Size:	46.8 KB 
ID:	19862Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DWG-files-4-sm.png 
Views:	58 
Size:	20.8 KB 
ID:	19863
    but note that you have to untick the view template:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DWG-files-5-sm.png 
Views:	68 
Size:	78.3 KB 
ID:	19864

Similar Threads

  1. Linking multiple drawings - Insertion Point
    By domsib in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: March 5th, 2013, 01:45 PM
  2. Can i import autocad drawings and make MEP for it ?
    By ahmed_hassan in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 25th, 2012, 03:02 PM
  3. Controlling Line Weights of Attached Revit Models
    By MartinGT in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 1st, 2011, 05:00 PM
  4. Cad drawings to revit line drawings
    By Nathaniel101789 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 21st, 2011, 10:46 AM
  5. Referencing Revit models in Autocad drawings
    By Nick Kane in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 4th, 2011, 05:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •