Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Ceiling Grid

  1. #1
    Senior Member domsib's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 30, 2012
    Posts
    586
    Current Local Time
    06:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Ceiling Grid

    I've never worked on the Electrical side of Revit so I've decided to have a practice and see what I can pick up.

    I've drawn a few walls and added doors and windows. I have 2 standard levels; level 0 and level 1.

    Level 0 being the ground floor and level 1 being 4m above this.

    I've drawn a 600x600 ceiling grid in all of the rooms at a height of 3.2m but it does not show up in my plan view.

    I see it in my 3d view, can anyone tell me how I get to view it?

    If I go to my VG the ceilings are checked.

  2. #2
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,229
    Current Local Time
    02:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    in the PB, scroll down your view list a bit and look for ceiling plans. If you don't have one, go to the view tab -- plan views -- reflected ceiling plan and create a new one.

  3. #3
    Member UKN's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 16, 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    60
    Current Local Time
    11:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Check your view range in the RCP, and make sure that the top plane is set to level 1 (anywhere above your ceiling), and that cut plane is set below 3200 from level 0. Should work then.

    Edit: Aaaah, yeah, make a ceiling plan first
    Last edited by UKN; April 25th, 2013 at 03:53 PM.

  4. #4
    Member ThatBIMGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 23, 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    465
    Current Local Time
    12:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    RCPs and Floor plans are created separately of each other. In the PB, Underlay is set to none and Underlay orientation is set to Floor or RCP depending on the plan view type created, you can switch those, but it wont display properly. I heard in 2013 you are suppose to be able to change underlay to the same level and be able to see the floor plan view and RCP but I can never get it to work. Mechanically, I typically use a "working ceiling" to lay out the diffusers, same for lights and anything ceiling hosted.

Similar Threads

  1. Centering ceiling grid
    By GMBailer in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 7th, 2018, 08:23 PM
  2. Ceiling Grid won't move anymore
    By sdbrownaia in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: April 26th, 2017, 07:25 PM
  3. Ceiling Grid - Noob question
    By Ant123 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 11th, 2013, 03:56 PM
  4. Ceiling Grid on my lighting sheets.
    By DMapes in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 10th, 2012, 09:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •