Donate Now Goal amount for this year: 2500 USD, Received: 2249 USD (90%)

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Component Paste Aligned to Different Level - Ends up in Same Place

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    February 17, 2011
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    193
    Current Local Time
    04:59 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Component Paste Aligned to Different Level - Ends up in Same Place

    I have a project where they are having difficultly using copy/paste aligned to different levels. When they use the Paste Aligned command (tried "Current View", "Selected Levels", "Pick Levels") to copy a component from the 1st to 2nd floor, the component ends up in the same place. If you look at the properties of the component, it lists the proper level, but it's Host is the floor element located on the 1st floor.

    I created a new floor in the project, placed a new instance of the component, and was able to successfully copy/paste aligned. What would cause this? I have looked at the properties of the floor, and both are identical.

    I have attached the trimmed down file, with both the original floor & the new floor.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,567
    Current Local Time
    01:59 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I too have been noticing this behavior in my projects. I haven't had the resources yet to trouble shoot this behavior though. So far though it seemed to malfunction when copying from one workset to another. I will try to document it more when I notice it again.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    February 17, 2011
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    193
    Current Local Time
    04:59 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Worksets have not been enabled on this project. There are also no phases. I have also tried creating new views in case there was something wrong with the plan view, but I had the same result.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    February 17, 2011
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    193
    Current Local Time
    04:59 PM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I have just tried the following:
    1. Select the component on the original floor and copy to clipboard
    2. Paste Aligned to the Second Floor, which actually places it on the First Floor in the same place as the original component
    3. Delete the original floor element
    4. The component moves up to the proper level, presumably because it has lost it's attachment to the floor element

    I still don't understand why this is happening, especially since I've never had anyone else complain about this particular problem before. Am I missing something here?

Similar Threads

  1. Stair component stringer place ??
    By ahmed_hassan in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 25th, 2012, 07:19 PM
  2. Dragging Grid and Level Ends
    By dzatto in forum Tutorials, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 11th, 2012, 07:52 PM
  3. Void extrusion, model component in place issue!
    By JordanVakarelov in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 6th, 2012, 06:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •