Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: No more AutoCAD? Really?

  1. #21
    Moderator gaby424's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 11, 2010
    Posts
    912
    Current Local Time
    06:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Wink

    it`s easy to have a color background. Just start to play a little with the cable of your monitors until one of the RGB colors is loosing contact

  2. #22
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,572
    Current Local Time
    09:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    But the white background absolutely causes agony for me. And i have my monitors on the lowest brightness setting they come on.
    Take a tip from a hard core gamer. ThinkGeek :: Gunnar Computer Glasses
    They rock!!! IDK if they can be made with your prescription though.

  3. #23
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,232
    Current Local Time
    12:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    One thing autocad got VERY right, was the ability for a user to customize what their individual workspace was like. I could have a medium gray background while drafting in a flat drawing, but could then have a normal background when looking at a 3D view.

    I would give anything to have that in revit.
    I second that. Every other drafting / modeling program I can think of has the option to change that, even extremely complicated software like 3DS.

    completely OT but the first CAD software I ever used was green text and was DOS based I was in awe the first time I saw a windows based CAD program and a plotter that didn't zip the paper back and forth a million times a minute to draw.

  4. #24
    Member AHutchinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 19, 2011
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    232
    Current Local Time
    09:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Cunningham View Post
    Take a tip from a hard core gamer. ThinkGeek :: Gunnar Computer Glasses
    They rock!!! IDK if they can be made with your prescription though.
    They can be made with prescription. Be sure to get the yellow tinted ones, as the clear ones don't help as much as they state.

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    March 20, 2012
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    224
    Current Local Time
    11:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Cunningham View Post
    Take a tip from a hard core gamer. ThinkGeek :: Gunnar Computer Glasses
    They rock!!! IDK if they can be made with your prescription though.
    Off topic yet again, but I've read about a program called f.lux that is supposed to ease eye strain by subtly changing your monitor's color throughout the day. I'm not sure how well it would work with grapic design programs, but it's free if anyone wants to test it:

    f.lux: software to make your life better

  6. #26
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,232
    Current Local Time
    12:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Aaronb View Post
    Off topic yet again, but I've read about a program called f.lux that is supposed to ease eye strain by subtly changing your monitor's color throughout the day. I'm not sure how well it would work with grapic design programs, but it's free if anyone wants to test it:

    f.lux: software to make your life better
    A better option would be monitor calibration software, which depending on how much you want to spend, range from a quick one-time fix to a full-time hardware solution that adjusts the display based on ambient conditions. They are generally used for high-end graphics where the screen needs to match a printed output. Datacolor Spyder4ELITE - Professional Monitor Calibration - Datacolor Imaging Solutions

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    April 18, 2012
    Posts
    119
    Current Local Time
    05:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I've just realise I still use a blackground for CAD all these years later. I'm using the default white background for Revit, and the default grey background for 3DS Max. My eyes must be really angry with my brain.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •