Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Copy / paste an entire model to eliminate worksharing?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Copy / paste an entire model to eliminate worksharing?

    I'm a stumbling, bumbling noob who wants to use a previous worksharing-enabled project's model as the starting point for a new project with my current template. I don't need any of the previous documentation (notes, dimensions, sheets), just the model. I also don't need worksharing for this project.

    So am I answering my own question here, or is there more for me to think about? Is it really as easy as this?:

    In the worksharing-enabled model, I opened a 3d view and turned on all objects in Visibility / Graphics. Then I selected the entire model with a window, filtered out things that I figured shouldn't be copied (i.e. project base point), filtered out a few more and a few more, until the Copy button on the ribbon was no longer grayed out. I copied that selection set to the clipboard, and in my new project pasted to the current level. it looks like all the objects copied over (with only a few error messages). I think everything is now considered existing (it was all new construction in the original model).

    #2
    Update: I should have first copied and pasted the previous project's levels. Objects set by a level that dont't exist in the new project reset themselves in relation to the level below themselves. Now I think I've got the model copied over.

    Comment


      #3
      Link it in, bind it, ungroup it. If the blank file has the levels at the same elevations, you can tell it to leave the levels behind and it works perfectly. Even associates the items to the right level.
      Aaron "selfish AND petulant" Maller |P A R A L L A X T E A M | Practice Technology Implementation
      @Web | @Twitter | @LinkedIn | @Email

      Comment


        #4
        Aaron: I lost track of this question. Thanks for the simplified process. I will use it the next time this situation comes up.

        Comment


          #5
          I wouldnt bother. In 2012, you can open with DFC, and eliminate the worksets with the dialogue box that comes up.
          Aaron "selfish AND petulant" Maller |P A R A L L A X T E A M | Practice Technology Implementation
          @Web | @Twitter | @LinkedIn | @Email

          Comment


            #6
            Well I'm a year late and version short...

            Comment

            Related Topics

            Collapse

            Working...
            X