Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Central file Error Message

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Central file Error Message

    I am having an issue with my Central files for two of our revit Jobs. We are making some minor changes about two weeks after sending out a project. No one has edited it for 12 days and when we get into it to make a change we get this error message: “Cannot edit Element – Element was Deleted in the Central File”.
    Any Idea why this warning shows up? We just save the local file over the central file (basically creating a new central file)and then create a new local and it fixes the problem. I just need to know why it is happening in the first place so I can avoid it in the future.
    Thanks for your help,
    Dan
    Thanks,
    Dan

    #2
    Does the message also tell you what is getting deleted? Should if you expand the warning? Hard to say why...but something is changing and causing Revit to think it must. For example, when a link goes missing Revit can generate that message if there are dimensions referencing the link.

    Comment


      #3
      Ironically, ive got a couple of files here that do the same thing. We dont even have to recreate the central, the users have to SWC immediately. Thats disconcerting, because im in the camp of *new local every single time you open the file,* which means they are in a BRAND NEW LOCAL, LOOKING at objects. Try to touch anything, revit says *it was deleted in the central file.* You do a quick SWC, nothing actually deletes, and the file is fine afterwards.

      Its freakin nutty. I have two projects doing it right now.
      Aaron "selfish AND petulant" Maller |P A R A L L A X T E A M | Practice Technology Implementation
      @Web | @Twitter | @LinkedIn | @Email

      Comment


        #4
        Old timer story...

        In the old days when you opened a worksharing project Revit borrowed the Project Standards workset. When it finished opening the file it returned it and we are none the wiser. We discovered this (Scott Brown and I) when I opened a file in California after downloading a copy of his project based in Florida. It was taking forever to open, I realized that it was trying to "talk" to the central file in Florida (before the detach option came along). I used end task to bail out. Scott called me practically seconds later to ask how on earth I borrowed the Project Standards workset?!? We both said, "you don't think that...." Yes Revit was doing it in the background. Support confirmed our suspicions later that day.

        ...wrapping the Long story... this makes me wonder if they've changed that process and now create some "zombie" object that gets borrowed and then deleted when everything opens properly and something is corrupted now. Have you opened the files with Audit by any chance?
        Last edited by Steve_Stafford; January 30, 2012, 09:04 PM. Reason: fixed spelling/wording

        Comment


          #5
          I havent, but it doesnt do it every time someone opens, either. So generally once they hit up the SWC things are back to normal. Thats an interesting story, though. It reminds me of Publish and Acquire Coordinates. Like, youre not in the file, but youre in the file...
          Aaron "selfish AND petulant" Maller |P A R A L L A X T E A M | Practice Technology Implementation
          @Web | @Twitter | @LinkedIn | @Email

          Comment


            #6
            Thanks for your input. At least I am not the only one dealing with this issue. I will try SWC first thing next time.
            Thanks,
            Dan

            Comment


              #7
              We have just had this start to happen today on about 4 files in one project (but not all files) in RAC2011. Mysterious.
              I took ownership of a workset and that resolved it, as did Synchronise.
              Revitcat
              revitcat.blogspot.com

              Comment


                #8
                Hey Tim! Glad to see you here!
                Aaron "selfish AND petulant" Maller |P A R A L L A X T E A M | Practice Technology Implementation
                @Web | @Twitter | @LinkedIn | @Email

                Comment


                  #9
                  Originally posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
                  I havent, but it doesnt do it every time someone opens, either. So generally once they hit up the SWC things are back to normal.
                  We've also experienced this issue on a couple of projects.

                  Comment

                  Related Topics

                  Collapse

                  Working...
                  X