Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

BIM 360 - Adding Team changes Permissions

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    BIM 360 - Adding Team changes Permissions

    We've just found out that when we add a new Team to a BIM 360 project, our Permissions get changed.
    You need to add a Team in order to set up a Publish Schedule


    Perhaps I’m not understanding the way Teams are intended to be used, but from reading this link:
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...aboration.html
    it looks to me like when you add a Team, everyone in the Project gets added to the Team, and therefore everyone in the Project gets their permissions changed.

    That may be behavior “as designed”, but I consider it to be a bug.

    We set up our projects with Permissions set by Company.
    All Companies get View + Download + Upload at the Project Files level, and then + Edit for their specific Discipline folder.
    When a new Team is discovered and Added, from what I can see, it just dumps everyone in the Project into that new Team, and then they all get Edit permissions to the Team folder.

    Is there a better way to set up either Permissions or Teams so that not everyone gets added to every Team?
    I hope we don’t need to go into every Team and clean it up manually every time we add a new Team.

    How have you dealt with this? Or have you even noticed this happens? Took me a while to realize that I hadn't been screwing up our Permissions, they were getting changed & I didn't know why.

    Dave Plumb
    BWBR Architects; St Paul, MN

    CADsplaining: When a BIM rookie tells you how you should have done something.

    #2
    Originally posted by DaveP View Post
    ]When a new Team is discovered and Added, from what I can see, it just dumps everyone in the Project into that new Team, and then they all get Edit permissions to the Team folder.[/FONT]
    Definitely not the designed behavior (I helped to define it). Teams should be empty (outside of the Project Admins) until a User, Company, or Role is added to that Team, after which all users in that item (assuming it's not just adding discrete Users) are added to that Team and inherit the permissions define for that Team.

    From your description, it sounds like a defect of some sort we'd need to have the support team look at.
    Director
    Building Design Strategy

    Comment


      #3
      Thanks for chiming in, Kyle.
      I had filed a Support Request which has more details
      Case ID: 17880501

      Dave Plumb
      BWBR Architects; St Paul, MN

      CADsplaining: When a BIM rookie tells you how you should have done something.

      Comment

      Related Topics

      Collapse

      Working...
      X