Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cancel Editing Text Grrrr!

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Cancel Editing Text Grrrr!

    I've been working on my first R2017 project for the last few days and the dialog that pops up when I finish creating text is driving me nuts . Create text, done, Escape, left click with the mouse, another create text box pops up, if you then hit Escape again the "Do you want to keep changes in your text note? dialog pops up. One either needs to hit Escape twice or use the Modify button Way Up There At the Left Top. Can't get out of it with another Escape, one must manually click on Yes, No, or Cancel. I fully understand why some might find this useful but I find it annoying. When I'm done, I'm done, leave me alone! Is there any way in the .ini to turn this off??
    Last edited by Dave Jones; June 28, 2017, 06:04 PM. Reason: spelling
    I'm retired, if you don't like it, go around!

    #2
    um...yeah. :banghead:
    Michael "MP" Patrick (Deceased - R.I.P)

    Comment


      #3
      Originally posted by Dave Jones View Post
      I've been working on my first R2017 project for the last few days and the dialog that pops up when I finish creating text is driving me nuts . Create text, done, Escape, left click with the mouse, another create text box pops up, if you then hit Escape again the "Do you want to keep changes in your text note? dialog pops up. One either needs to hit Escape twice or use the Modify button Way Up There At the Left Top. Can't get out of it with another Escape, one must manually click on Yes, No, or Cancel. I fully understand why some might find this useful but I find it annoying. When I'm done, I'm done, leave me alone! Is there any way in the .ini to turn this off??
      Did you download the service pack? Im on Revit 2017.2 and not seeing that.

      Comment


        #4
        Originally posted by koolair View Post
        Did you download the service pack? Im on Revit 2017.2 and not seeing that.
        I'm on 17.0.1128.0 20170419_0315(x64) 2017.2.1 which I believe is the latest and greatest
        I'm retired, if you don't like it, go around!

        Comment


          #5
          Yes, this is very annoying ESC twice has always gotten out of any command and back to modify. Having to click yes is just awful.
          Scott D. Brown, AIA | Senior Project Manager | Beck Group

          Comment


            #6
            Great post - this behaviour in Text is so annoying it's worthy of Microsoft
            William Sutherland rias riba
            WS Architecture Ltd

            Comment


              #7
              Agreed. It's so ANNOYING.
              There are no stupid questions, only stupid people

              Comment


                #8
                Hi Dave et al--

                Help me understand your exact workflow, and what behavior wouild you like to see instead.
                Here is text note creation in Revit 2017+ (new text):

                Revit 2017+
                1. Choose Text tool
                2. Click in the view to start a new text note
                3. Type some text
                4. Click outside of the text note to complete it
                5. Double-click Esc to exit the text tool

                It sounds to me like the issue is that at step 5 you click Esc only once (the text tool remains active), then left-click in the view. This starts a new text note... but you didn't want that--and now clicking Esc twice doesn't exit the tool because of the "Do you want to keep the changes in your note" dialog box.

                Perhaps the solution would be to only fire that dialog if you click Esc after actually typing some text in the text box? If it's blank, as in your example, Revit should know that you don't want to save that text note.

                Does that sound reasonable, or do you have some other suggestions?

                Thanks,

                Trey
                [email protected]

                Comment


                  #9
                  Originally posted by willsud View Post
                  Great post - this behaviour in Text is so annoying it's worthy of Microsoft
                  I would like to reply but my apple ipad2 keeps cras...h".i..wait for it......n........gggg
                  Motorbike riding is one long bezier curve

                  Comment


                    #10
                    I've always just clicked outside the text field to finish text editing. I learned to never use ESC in past releases because that just killed the text editing work WITHOUT any warning. With 2017 it now warns you when you use ESC to help avoid losing the work. If you press ESC once and then Y it will choose the Yes response in the warning dialog. Using ESC twice chooses Cancel in the warning dialog, leaves you in the editing mode.

                    Also, when they reworked the text editor for 2017 they assigned the combination of CTRL + Q as the default keyboard Shortcut for the command Close Text Editor, the Close button on the editor ribbon. You can assign your own but the editor HAS to have a CTRL key combination to work. Try using something else and a warning will pop up to let you know you can't.

                    Edit: I just noticed that in 2018 there is no default keyboard shortcut for Close Text Editor. Also in 2017 and 2018 I find that when/if I use the Keyboard Shortcut a warning sound occurs each time. If I just use ESC and then Y...no bell. It seems to regard the use of the keyboard shortcut as some sort of error deserving of a warning, that's weird.
                    Attached Files
                    Last edited by Steve_Stafford; July 2, 2017, 01:58 AM.

                    Comment

                    Related Topics

                    Collapse

                    Working...
                    X