Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Central model issues

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Central model issues

    Right I have a strange one for you all. We have several central files saved on a server with multiple people working on it with local files. over the last few weeks we are seeing peoples names in the workest box who are not working on the project & have not opened the file, this in its self is no problem but it then leads to us not been able to sync as it says the have borrowed elements.


    Anyone had anything like this???

    #2
    Yes. I have had this happen a number of times. People who are not familiar with worksharing/revit and are curious/nosy open the central model file thinking nobody will notice and then not relinquish upon closing, and then deny it afterwards, only to find out they actually ****** up.

    Comment


      #3
      some of our users I could believe that, but this one in question this week is our development guy & I know for a fact he was not in the model

      Comment


        #4
        Originally posted by Chris.kershaw View Post
        some of our users I could believe that, but this one in question this week is our development guy & I know for a fact he was not in the model
        Maybe someone used his PC or maybe someone has changed his user name and called like the development guy.

        So if the problem is that there are elements that another user have permissions, there is the possibility to change the name of the user and after relinquish all the elements.

        Revit button > Options > Username

        Comment


          #5
          it is always possible but I cant see why anyone would want to change the username in revit and open a model. yeah that usually works but this morning it dint help had to bite the bullet & create a new central file from a local

          Comment


            #6
            It's also possible that revit is on someone's machine who IS in the model, and Revit just has the wrong usernames. This would depend on how revit was deployed, what INI file was used, and how it was populated on each machine.
            Aaron "selfish AND petulant" Maller |P A R A L L A X T E A M | Practice Technology Implementation
            @Web | @Twitter | @LinkedIn | @Email

            Comment


              #7
              The Workshare Monitor is not exactly know for being perfectly accurate.
              I've seen it hang on to people's names for hours after they've closed, or have a name in the list two or three times.

              I've never seen it display a name that's never been in Revit, though.
              Take a look at the history.
              There are two places you can view this.
              From the Workshare Monitor, there's a small icon on the top bar - looks like a page of paper.
              That will get you to a second tab that shows who's opened and saved the file and how long it took for each operation.
              There's also a "Show History" icon on the Collaborate tab inside Revit. That one shows only who has saved the file and when.
              Dave Plumb
              BWBR Architects; St Paul, MN

              CADsplaining: When a BIM rookie tells you how you should have done something.

              Comment


                #8
                Ive seen phantom users before, but it was on Revit Server. It can happen when people are using slightly different versions of revit on the same server. Maybe something similar? Check everyone is using the same update version.

                Its good to detatch and save your central files every so often anyway (They get a bit smaller as temporary data is cleaned up).
                Last edited by josephpeel; February 27, 2017, 08:21 AM.
                "One must imagine Sisyphus happy." Albert Camus - "The innovator has for enemies all those who have done well under the old conditions, and lukewarm defenders in those who may ​do well under the new." Nicolo Machiavelli -"Things that are too complex are not useful, Things that are useful are simple." Mikhail Kalashnikov

                Comment


                  #9
                  Thanks josephpeel
                  ive just been told this by another revit user & ive checked & yes the versions are not the sames so im getting all users inline & will monitor from there

                  Comment

                  Loading...
                  Working...
                  X