Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My favorite thing about Revit (not... caution rant)

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    My favorite thing about Revit (not... caution rant)

    Ok Revit programmers... what the hell were you thinking when you give the warning "Revit is upgrading the project you are opening" or whatever it says ... and NOT giving the option to cancel??

    I am simultaneously working on a 2010 and 2011 project and the 2010 project CANNOT be upgraded per client request. When I accidentally open it with 2011, or in this case, try to steal some views for the new 2011 project, I have to use the task manager to KILL the Revit app.

    Geez guys.. this is probably the dumbest Revit quirk out of all the dumb Revit quirks. I'm going to make detached copy of the 2010 project, upgrade THAT copy and steal from it. But sheesh. :crazy:

    /rant

    #2
    You can open it and not save...
    -Alex Cunningham

    Comment


      #3
      Originally posted by Alex Cunningham View Post
      You can open it and not save...
      lol .. really? That warning is pretty intimidating. But you're saying it's just upgrading the local copy and NOT the central file? Even when I'm inserting views?

      Comment


        #4
        Yes, even when inserting views. Nothing gets saved to the central file untill you sync with Central.

        PLEASE Correct me if I am wrong.
        -Alex Cunningham

        Comment


          #5
          Originally posted by Alex Cunningham View Post
          Yes, even when inserting views. Nothing gets saved to the central file untill you sync with Central.

          PLEASE Correct me if I am wrong.
          I guess that makes sense... but I'm gonna stick with the workaround of detaching a copy and using THAT rather than "correcting you if you're wrong". Lol.. I like all parts of my butt and don't want any of it chewed off today!

          Thanks

          Comment


            #6
            No need to panic. Revit temporarily upgrades the file in order to show it, but the file is not actually formatted to the newer version yet unless you intentionally save the file. You can notice that by opening a file from an older version several times in a newer version, and closing the file without saving; the message will display every time you open the file, which means that the file is still usable for the lower version. Now, if you save, that's another story.
            Freelance BIM Provider at Autodesk Services Marketplace | Linkedin

            Comment


              #7
              Thanks Alfredo for confirming. :thumbsup:
              -Alex Cunningham

              Comment


                #8
                There is a cancel button that appears during the upgrade down by the status bar in the lower left corner of the screen. I know this because I have used it many times. It actually works too if you can get to it - it seems to dissappear at some later point during the upgrade process though.

                It would be nice if it asked you before starting the process, however.

                Comment


                  #9
                  You can either NOT save or Save As (only if you're not worksharing).
                  The cancel button is present, left side of the status bar beneath your screen. Even worth clicking where it's supposed to be if it's not showing.. That will often cancel the load too.
                  Martijn de Riet
                  Professional Revit Consultant | Revit API Developer
                  MdR Advies
                  Planta1 Revit Online Consulting

                  Comment


                    #10
                    And if you DO "accidently" save in a non-workset project....go immediately to the most recent backup and use that file. It will still be in the previous version format. In a workset project, if you get the "upgrading" message upon opening, just do NOT sync with Central. Close the file, don't save, relinqush all...then open the right Revit version and start again.
                    Scott D Davis
                    Sr. AEC Technical Specialist
                    Autodesk, Inc.
                    http://bit.ly/aboutsdd

                    Comment

                    Related Topics

                    Collapse

                    Working...
                    X