Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My favorite thing about Revit (not... caution rant)

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • John McCamont
    replied
    Originally posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    I love Revit to death, but in all honesty... If THATS the most annoyign thing youve found, you must not use it very much.
    lol, I use it daily actually, and I'm usually able to find a workaround for all the other things. Now that I know this isn't as dangerous as I thought it was, it's not the top of the list anymore... I think not being able to align text in schedule headers is up there just because of the pure "duh" factor.

    Leave a comment:


  • Twiceroadsfool
    replied
    I love Revit to death, but in all honesty... If THATS the most annoyign thing youve found, you must not use it very much.

    Leave a comment:


  • Scott D Davis
    replied
    And if you DO "accidently" save in a non-workset project....go immediately to the most recent backup and use that file. It will still be in the previous version format. In a workset project, if you get the "upgrading" message upon opening, just do NOT sync with Central. Close the file, don't save, relinqush all...then open the right Revit version and start again.

    Leave a comment:


  • mdradvies
    replied
    You can either NOT save or Save As (only if you're not worksharing).
    The cancel button is present, left side of the status bar beneath your screen. Even worth clicking where it's supposed to be if it's not showing.. That will often cancel the load too.

    Leave a comment:


  • jsnyder
    replied
    There is a cancel button that appears during the upgrade down by the status bar in the lower left corner of the screen. I know this because I have used it many times. It actually works too if you can get to it - it seems to dissappear at some later point during the upgrade process though.

    It would be nice if it asked you before starting the process, however.

    Leave a comment:


  • Alex Cunningham
    replied
    Thanks Alfredo for confirming. :thumbsup:

    Leave a comment:


  • Alfredo Medina
    replied
    No need to panic. Revit temporarily upgrades the file in order to show it, but the file is not actually formatted to the newer version yet unless you intentionally save the file. You can notice that by opening a file from an older version several times in a newer version, and closing the file without saving; the message will display every time you open the file, which means that the file is still usable for the lower version. Now, if you save, that's another story.

    Leave a comment:


  • John McCamont
    replied
    Originally posted by Alex Cunningham View Post
    Yes, even when inserting views. Nothing gets saved to the central file untill you sync with Central.

    PLEASE Correct me if I am wrong.
    I guess that makes sense... but I'm gonna stick with the workaround of detaching a copy and using THAT rather than "correcting you if you're wrong". Lol.. I like all parts of my butt and don't want any of it chewed off today!

    Thanks

    Leave a comment:


  • Alex Cunningham
    replied
    Yes, even when inserting views. Nothing gets saved to the central file untill you sync with Central.

    PLEASE Correct me if I am wrong.

    Leave a comment:


  • John McCamont
    replied
    Originally posted by Alex Cunningham View Post
    You can open it and not save...
    lol .. really? That warning is pretty intimidating. But you're saying it's just upgrading the local copy and NOT the central file? Even when I'm inserting views?

    Leave a comment:

Related Topics

Collapse

Working...
X