Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recovery File

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Recovery File

    Here's a noob question:

    Revit crashed and asked me to save a recover file, which I did.

    So, after I open it, do I just save it and overwrite the original file? I really don't want 2 files. Is there any reason not to save over it? The recovery file is a "normal" file, right?
    Dan

    #2
    I don't really know but I have always overridden the original after a saving the recovery file a few times making sure there are no weird errors...

    I really would like to know the answer to this as well...
    Juan Carlos Moreno
    Store Designer & Merchandising Manager
    Sisley Cosmetics

    Comment


      #3
      Whew! I'm not the only one. :laugh:

      I actually decided to do exactly what you just said. I'm working in the recovery. Once I save a few times with no issues I'll probably either overwrite the original, or rename it to [project name]1 or something different.
      Dan

      Comment


        #4
        Word of caution though... Im still a noob too
        Juan Carlos Moreno
        Store Designer & Merchandising Manager
        Sisley Cosmetics

        Comment


          #5
          Dan....

          I thought while creating a recovery file revit extracting a work to new template just like a "WBLOCK" in AutoCAD. And while extrating it is not possible to overwrite a existing file as the recovery has to be done from a existing file.

          Would like to thoughts of other guys.
          Yogesh

          Comment


            #6
            I usually keep the old file, especially when I don't really know what caused the crash. But maybe I'm being too cautious...
            Martijn de Riet
            Professional Revit Consultant | Revit API Developer
            MdR Advies
            Planta1 Revit Online Consulting

            Comment


              #7
              I always save back to the original file name. Never had a problem with doing that.

              Comment


                #8
                Originally posted by Yogesh View Post
                Dan....

                I thought while creating a recovery file revit extracting a work to new template just like a "WBLOCK" in AutoCAD. And while extrating it is not possible to overwrite a existing file as the recovery has to be done from a existing file.

                Would like to thoughts of other guys.
                I think Revit's recovery file is just like doing a save as. It just creates a new file.


                Originally posted by mdradvies View Post
                I usually keep the old file, especially when I don't really know what caused the crash. But maybe I'm being too cautious...
                The only issue I have with that is I continued designing in the recovery file since it had the latest stuff I did (obviously the original file doesn't have recent changes). So, at this point, I have another hour or so of work in the recovery. :laugh:
                So I guess there really isn't any need to keep the original since it's way out of date now.

                Sometimes I hate computers............
                Last edited by dzatto; May 5, 2011, 03:10 PM.
                Dan

                Comment


                  #9
                  Dan,
                  I know that you're original will soon become outdated. But I have had one occasion (back in Revit 8 or 9) when my "recovered" file shut down after a few days and I was left with nothing... That sucked big time. Since a few mb's storage cost about 2 ct these days, better safe then sorry.
                  But, I do put the old files in an archive folder so they don't clutter up my working directory.
                  Martijn de Riet
                  Professional Revit Consultant | Revit API Developer
                  MdR Advies
                  Planta1 Revit Online Consulting

                  Comment


                    #10
                    Good idea. I'll just move the original somewhere just in case and keep working in the recovery....well, after I rename it. I don't want to be reminded it's a recovery file every time I open it. :laugh:
                    Dan

                    Comment

                    Related Topics

                    Collapse

                    Working...
                    X